We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great small venue” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pony Lounge & Dining

Pony Lounge & Dining
Shop 15, 10 Playfair St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (City Centre)
(02) 9252 7797
Improve this listing
Ranked #622 of 5,322 Restaurants in Sydney
Price range: $0 - $52
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: City Centre
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great small venue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

I have been wanting to go to Pony for ages and finally got the chance to take a friend their for their birthday. The food was great and the service was fantastic. It was loud and l expected it to be bigger but perfect evening was had. Will go back.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    119
    47
    25
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Sensational meal and a great date night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

The starters are fantastic! We had the dips and a seared tuna spring roll. Perfect. The pork belly and several others looked amazing.

The wagyu rump was perfectly done with the most flavoursome beirnaisse sauce I have had in a long time.

For desert, the creme brûlée was flawlessly prepared.

Very good atmosphere and decor with friendly and attentive service. Love the touch of the bovine tiles etc. Only complaint would be a mediocre wine list but that is a subjective thing. There weren't enough Barossa reds by the glass for my taste.

If you are in the area you won't be disappointed here.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very accomodating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We arrived at this quaint restaurant/bar late on a Friday night looking for some dinner. They were very busy but the manager was very polite and offered for us to have some drinks while they get a table ready for us. Ten minutes later we were escorted to our table and it was well worth the wait. The food was absolutely divine and they had a great wine selection. The kitchen was very open so you could watch the chefs preparing you meals. We ended up being one of the last table to leave and to be honest we didnt want to leave as the atomsphere and service made it a place which made you so comfortable and at home.
Will definitely be searching this place out again next time we are in Sydney

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We visited whilst on an extended long weekend in Sydney. The interior fit out was tasteful with a view of the open view kitchen - which seemed remarkably quiet! It was quite a quiet restaurant rather than vibrant but we did go on a Sunday evening and we were sat inside rather than on the outdoor shared long table.

Service was excellent with attentive service throughout. No waiting for wineglasses to be filled here after they took the bottle away from the table!

We had Oysters (tasty) before our starters of Pork Belly (sticking to your teeth good) and Chorizo (slightly disappointed that it was more the German/Swiss variety rather than Spanish but ok). For mains the seafood risotto (unlike a lot of places quite generous with the seafood) and chicken (insanely tender). Dessert was a creme brulee and something else I forget (must have been the wine!) but both equally good to finish a nice meal off.

Touching on the pricey side but I don't mind paying a premium for the location when the service and overall experience justify it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Average restaurant with glimpses of goodness”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This restaurant was recommended to me several times, when I finally visited to dine there with friends, I found it more like a café than a restaurant, the food was just ok but quite average for what I was expecting, will not go back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pony Lounge & Dining also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Pony Lounge & Dining? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pony Lounge & Dining, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.