We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average restaurant with glimpses of goodness” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pony Lounge & Dining

Pony Lounge & Dining
Shop 15, 10 Playfair St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (City Centre)
(02) 9252 7797
Improve this listing
Ranked #459 of 5,160 restaurants in Sydney
Price range: $0 - $52
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: City Centre
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Average restaurant with glimpses of goodness”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This restaurant was recommended to me several times, when I finally visited to dine there with friends, I found it more like a café than a restaurant, the food was just ok but quite average for what I was expecting, will not go back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    77
    99
    40
    20
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

This was a great restaurant with exceptional customer service. Our group shared a variety of small tapas meals and the outstanding dish was the crispy fried king prawns with Szechuan spice & sweet soy.

The atmosphere was fantastic and the feel of the restaurant was just amazing.

This was a first for me & I will definitely be returning and recommend this restaurant to all.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“SHANK'S PONY WOULD HAVE BEEN TASTIER!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

My friend & I visited on a Saturday night 3 weeks ago and, despite her praise of it in the past and the fact it was expensive, we were both extremely disappointed. Firstly, there was no Australian champagne on the wine list and this in a tourist area. Shame on you Pony! Secondly, we both ordered Wagyu steaks ($42) and not only were they very ordinary in flavour, they were tough and had no marbling (the hallmark of Wagyu). We both had had superior steaks from Coles and Woolworths supermarkets and felt someone was being ripped off and that it was us. Dessert was fine and the Dutch waiter was excellent and charming.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Still excellent.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

It's been a few years since I've been to Pony and I'd worried slightly that it would be not as good as it used to be... WRONG! Still glorious. We sat outside on the huge shared bench. Lovely night. Amazing, efficient friendly waitstaff and beautiful food. Loved the cocktails too esp the "My little pony".. will be back soon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peel, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous food, staff and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Best food in many months in a restaurant. Service absolutely fantastic and friendly despite it being a very busy sat night on a bank holiday weekend. Could not rate the service highly enough. Overall a great experience and would recommend to others.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pony Lounge & Dining also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Pony Lounge & Dining? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pony Lounge & Dining, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.