We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Sydney... One not to miss.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Pelican

Le Pelican
Shop 2, 411 Bourke St, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia
(02) 9380 2622
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 5,233 Restaurants in Sydney
Price range: $10 - $26
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best in Sydney... One not to miss.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

We have been coming here since it opened more than 7 years ago. It is always a pleasure, always more than we anticipate and always satisfying. Jeff and Ally are the best of hosts. The food is always stunning. Wine list excellent. Feels like we are back in Paris.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    13
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Cozy, pleasant French Bistro offering good French wine.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

A small, cozy, pleasant French-style bistro that is good for either just a glass of wine or proper eating. The staff is very friendly and welcoming.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Wonderful surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We discovered Le Pelican by accident as we dived into the restaurant randomly as it started raining heavily. Once in, we knew instantly that we had found something special. Wonderful service and food that made you want to stay there for the next sitting. The fig soufflé was amazing. I want to go back to Sydney just to eat here again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
270 reviews 270 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 151 cities Reviews in 151 cities
244 helpful votes 244 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This restaaurant is quite small, but delicious! Perfect spot is you wanna good service and meals! The starter was little bit queer, but the main was fantastic! Can recommend for casual dining.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A delightful NYE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We had the pleasure of dining at Le Pelican on New Years' Eve and couldn't have been happier with the ambience, the food and the friendly service. The goat's curd, red pepper sorbet and Serrano crisp not only looked quite striking but was also a wonderful blend of texture and flavour. The Christmas pudding souffle, served with Armangac ice cream, was a standout. Can't wait to visit again. Many thanks for the experience.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Pelican also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Le Pelican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Pelican, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.