We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely superb, do not miss this one!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Pelican

Le Pelican
Shop 2, 411 Bourke St, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia
(02) 9380 2622
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #58 of 5,211 Restaurants in Sydney
Price range: $10 - $26
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Absolutely superb, do not miss this one!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

casual but superb service, good wine list and teh Rabbit Terrine was a dream- delicious and good value.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    30
    12
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“A Touch of France”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Whenever we crave a touch of affordable French/Australian fusion cuisine we head for Le Pelican. Jean Francois as the owner/chef and his partner Ally in front of house, always deliver a quality experience. The menu changes regularly to fit the seasons and the affordable wine list has a good mix of Australian and French wines to please most palates. If you like to match your wine with your meal, just ask their somelier, Claire for some guidance. The cosy ambience is enhanced by being in a little old heritage cottage. Food from a master French chef, French wine, the sound of French accents with a freindly touch to the service always makes for a good night.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Charming, excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This is a charming place with the most lovely front of house staff; modern French food served in a no-fuss approach. Would be delighted to return - prices reasonable

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Your local corner restaurant in Paris”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I love Le Pelican. I have been there about 20 times now over the past year or so and feel like I'm just in Paris, going to my local (and very good) neighbourhood restaurants where the food has a consistent standard, the wine is excllent and it doesn't blow the budget. It is french brassiere style with good specials. I like the ambience, the staff, the food and the choice of wine. Is it the finest restaurant in Australia no, but I come back here more times than any other restaurants I know. The oysters are always terrific AND freshly shucked, this time i reluctantly bypased the Onglet for the lamb and it was completely delicious. Everyone (six of us) ate everything and some naughty girls stole their unfinished french butter pats (in a container.) In fact I shouldn't tell you about this restaurant at all, in case it gets too hard to get in.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bega, NSW, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Food as pleasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

If eating is a pleasure - and of course it can be - this restaurant is pleasure's accomplice.

I ate here with my daughter and husband on a rainy night at short notice almost a year ago and I haven't forgotten it yet. The staff had a light, humorous touch; the atmosphere was cosy and rich; the service thoughtful and intelligent and the food a witty surprise.

Everything we ate (fish pie, stuffed zucchini, something delicious or other) was superb and perfectly presented, without being pretentious.

We left feeling we'd experienced a near-perfect meal in a comforting environment. The rain pelting down on a warm summer's night must've helped us feel we were taking time out from the ordinary but I doubt it accounted for everything...

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Pelican also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Le Pelican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Pelican, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.