We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“looking forward to having dinner again in Thai Pothong” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thai Pothong

Thai Pothong
Shop 4, 294 King St | Newtown, Sydney, New South Wales 2042, Australia (City Centre)
+61 2 9550 6277
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 5,189 Restaurants in Sydney
Price range: $1 - $23
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: City Centre
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“looking forward to having dinner again in Thai Pothong”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Thai smile, the best Thai food and great Thai Atmosphere = Thai Pothong Restaurant. The best Thai food I have ever had in the whole life is just in Thai Pothong. The service is excellent, the price is just worth with delicious Thai food. besides, there is Thai handicraft/souvenirs shop as well in the restaurant. What a perfect combination, food and shopping ...

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    41
    7
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ginosa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“FanTHAIstic!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

One of the best thai restaurant I ve ever been! Try the ThaiPad with chicken and prawns! Awesome, actually! !

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Awesome food, prompt service, great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

First time, heard so much, we weren't disappointed.. Food, service, atmosphere was fantastic.
Friendly staff, very busy, people kept flooding in, but it didn't stop the great service.
Highly recommend

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“I want it again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stopped in after a show at 9:30pm on a Friday. We were seated and served promptly.

BYO is wine only but they have a good selection of other drinks.

We had the curry puffs and chicken satay sticks followed by pad thai and yellow chilli chicken.

We love our food spicy so ordered fresh chilli on the side but the dishes were delightfully zingy without being stupidly hot.

Service was fast and efficient and food delicious. Don't come here for a romantic night but for a delicious, filling meal or group celebration- spot on!

Love the endless rice pot at $3 pp.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing food, service and atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

You cannot go to Sydney and not eat here. The food was amazing, the staff could not do enough for us and the food was great value for money. My glass was never empty and as soon as they saw my rice nearing a finish they topped up my plate (unlimited rice). We were a party of four and every dish delivered to the table was delicious.
As we paid with cash we got 10% back on our bill in Thai Pothong dollars which were redeemable in their gift store. We were able to get 4sets of incense. When they asked if it was our first time and how we had heard about them, after answering with yes and tripadvisor they gave us each a beautiful. wooden trinket box.
Would highly recommend a visit! Come hungry!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Pothong also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Thai Pothong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai Pothong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.