We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Japanese restaurant I've been to” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sushi-e

Sushi-e
Establishment Hotel, 248-252 George St,, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
(02) 9240 3041
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #100 of 5,480 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $36
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Best Japanese restaurant I've been to”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

I have been to this restaurant so many times. Everything about it is excellent - decor, ambience and most importantly, food! It's nice to sit at the bar if it's just the 2 of you so you can watch the amazing chefs in action, making your food for you! I would recommend the wagyu, the spicy scallop roll, the spider roll and the kingfish special sashimi but everything else is delicious too! Wonderful fresh food with a modern twist. They also have a complimentary little pannacotta in a shot glass at the end to cleanse your palate. Love it! Go there!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    36
    7
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Amazing.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This was such a great place to go for a dinner date. The sashimi is the best I have ever tasted, it's all prepared right in front of you and the atmosphere is lovely. The service was great, I'd definitely recommend. Slightly on the more expensive side, but thoroughly worth it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
288 reviews 288 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
244 helpful votes 244 helpful votes
“In a word: WOW. Perfect.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We've been on the road, going around the world for 300 days now. We've had sushi in Japan, and, unbelievably enough, the meal we had tonight at Sushi e beats every other sushi place we've been. Better than Nobu (and, THAT is hard to do!).
Sublime prawn dumplings. The 7 pepper Dynamite Tuna was fantastic. Every dish was perfectly balanced and presented in a simple, beautiful form. Fresh, gorgeous fish. Friendly service from Laura and Junji. We are changing our other dinner plans to return to Sushi e. Worth EVERY nickel.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Club or Sushi?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

There maybe something I don't get about trendy house music thumping loud enough that it disrupts dinner conversation. I really like my sushi to be a simple pleasure; this was trendy... maybe it says more about me than about the restaurant, but I good establishment will not make anyone feel out of place.

The sushi was very good. Not the best, but good. The "raw vegetable roll" or something like that, looked to be made with dairy... so vegans beware. The replacement for the veggie roll never showed up, and we finally complained and they reopened the kitchen to make it for us. So props on effort but they still made the mistake.

When you are looking for this place, look for a club, you will have to walk by a bouncer and find an elevator (service quality elevator), while dodging between club-going Aussie post-adolescents.

Oh, and it's expensive. Dinner and a couple of drinks was $200 (wife and I). They didn't comp the veggie roll but did comp a glass of wine for the lost entree.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredrikstad, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I've been here a few times, and have never been disappointed - they have a great menu to choose from, or you can have the chefs make you something - either way, you're sure to get a great meal!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi-e also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Sushi-e? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sushi-e, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.