We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden From Tourists” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sushi-e

Sushi-e
Establishment Hotel, 248-252 George St,, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
(02) 9240 3041
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #95 of 5,099 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $36
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Warwickshire UK
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Hidden From Tourists”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

You have to be a local to know where this gem of a Sushi bar is located. Thankfully a local invited me to lunch there and I have noted it for future visits.

There is not a great deal to say other than all of the food presented was exceptional. Coupled with attentive service it is a venue I will gadly return to.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    36
    7
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
540 reviews 540 reviews
404 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 125 cities Reviews in 125 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
“One of the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Along with Toko, Sushi-e is one of the best sushi restaurants in Sydney. Certainly not cheap, so save up for a birthday or important celebration.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best sushi on town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Outstanding quality of food, generous servings and friendly professional staff....hard to beat, will always go back!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“yum!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Cute little jap restaurant with tasty food and fun seating if you're seated around the sushi-making area.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“An excellent meal and total experience....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Being an "out of towner", the temptation every time i visit Sydney is to continue to find new and exciting restaurants, bars and cafes that might not be on the normal radar. As such, most trips to Sydney now need to encompass and extra night to make sure i get my Sushi E fix.
I was introduced to Sushi E around 2007 and have been a seasoned campaigner ever since. From the moment you enter the famous Establishment complex, the ambience is hard to fault. Lots of energy, exceptinal service, vast arrays of people going to a variety of destinations appeal the E has to offer. The stand out (from my perspective at least) being Sushi E.
The highest quality of food and the equally high skill of the three Itamae chefs ensures a consistently outstanding meal each and every time. Explosions of tastes, the freshest of fish and surreal presentation are exceptional.... the scallops and king fish stand outs. For those without a budget concern i suggest you simply let the chef take you through the culinary delights at his whim leaving you to enjoy the ambience and select the quality liquor the establishment has to offer. Its not cheap, but not overly expensive, but worth every cent.... A MUST.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi-e also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Sushi-e? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sushi-e, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.