We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks great: delivers average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Thai Riffic (Newtown)

Thai Riffic (Newtown)
109 King St, Sydney, New South Wales 2042, Australia
(02) 9517 3066
Improve this listing
Ranked #841 of 5,305 Restaurants in Sydney
Price range: $13 - $18
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Star707, Sydney
Top Contributor
291 reviews 291 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
490 helpful votes 490 helpful votes
“Looks great: delivers average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

This restaurant is one of many Thai restaurants on the Newtown strip. This one is a cut above others in its class for looks. It has an excellent room which is thoughtfully configured. It has a good look. The menu is unremarkable, in that all Thai restaurants of this ilk offer basically the same menu. Maybe it was the time of day, maybe they were underpaid, maybe their pet canary died, but on the day we went there to eat the floor staff were preoccupied. They did not have their mind on the game. We ordered a simple dish: duck on noodles, with tea and a beer. How easy is that? We waited, and waited and waited. You don't want to get too pushy, but lunch break was fast drawing to its natural conclusion! Time to inquire: did you forget our order? The waiter confessed it had been sitting waiting to be run to the table for the last 30 minutes.The restaurant had only three other people in it, so they weren't busy. That is too long for what is basically a semi fast food lunch time venue. Most workers don't have that kind of time. And most workers don't want to get back to their office feeling unsettled after a lunch break. Good food is not enough, you need efficient service to go with it. Too many alternatives that get it right. I won't be a return customer.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    13
    4
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best Thai in Newtown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

King Street in Newtown has plenty of amazing Thai Restaurants but Thai Riffic has to be the best. Prices are a little above other Thai restaurants in Newtown but the quality of the food and the service is worth the extra expense. The popularity of the restaurant means that it is mostly crowded particularly on weekends. We like to have entrees and then have a break and a few drinks before ordering mains -so the fact that we were not hassled to hurt up our orders was yearly appreciated. This visit was for 12 (family and friends) and they were able to accommodate all our requests taking into account one of our guests was vegetarian. Have been here on many occasions with other couples and the food and service has always been good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Thanks for a great night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Went there by chance after walking around Newtown locality. My husband and I had no booking, but to our surprise we didnt have to wait very long. The restaurant was very busy, so we thought we would have a long wait. The food was really nice, great flavours and generouse portions. The service was good and all the staff were very friendly. A nice nite for a quick bite. We did notice there were birthday parties in progress, with staff singing happy birthday etc. We thought this was a nice, friendly touch.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One of the nicest Thai meals outside Thailand”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

6 of us ate Dinner here, so 6 different mains ordered. All very tasty and no-one disappointed. Service very quick, although table hadn't been set up despite the booking. If we lived in Sydney, we would certainly go back !

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“A Valentines Day Wasted!!!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

I usually visit restaurants more than once to make my final verdict. Thai Riffic..... Thai rotten!

Food - well we walked in and were seated upstairs. Too about 5 min to take our order. We ordered curry puffs and cashew stir fry with peanut sauce and also green curry. Curry puffs arrived after 30mins and then our main meal..... Well after 3 complaints and 1hour or more of waiting the food arrived. Then we asked for rice twice and after 10mins the rice arrived. We started eating....... And the wait WAS NOT WORTH IT. Regrettable decision to dine at Thai Riffic on a romantic day.

Value - it only cost us $48 so I guess it wasn't that bad. Well the food still was really terrible but at least the bill wasn't very much.

Service - if you read the above, I don't think I need to elaborate further however.... Service was terrible. An apology can only go so far but waiting on food and forgetting to bring rice to a curry meal is bad service. I can't express the words 'bad service' any further...

Atmosphere - they have done a good job with the atmosphere. It is modern, open and fresh. Good mood lighting and nice furniture.

Overall - disappointed. I wasted a perfectly planned valentines day at Thai Riffic. Had a perfect day and a perfect dinner was supposed to end a perfect day. I'm sorry to say but for such a good atmosphere, I can't recommend this restaurant. Bad services and bad food can't be swapped for a good atmosphere.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Riffic (Newtown) also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Thai Riffic (Newtown)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai Riffic (Newtown), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.