We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food but not very impressed with the receptionist!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Glass Brasserie

Glass Brasserie
Level 2, 488 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
02 9265 6068
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #171 of 5,302 Restaurants in Sydney
Price range: $23 - $165
Cuisines: French, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
2 reviews
“Great food but not very impressed with the receptionist!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We heard great things about Glass and decided to give it a try for my birthday two weeks ago since we are members of Entertainment Book which offers "one complimentary Main Course when another Main Course of equal or greater value is purchased".
There were six of us and as soon as we walked in, we were well looked after by our waiter who was very friendly and professional throughout the evening. Interior deco and ambience is fantastic!
We absolutely loved the house bread which came out nice and warm with Luke Mangans extra virgin olive oil before our meal. We ordered 3 sides, 3 tapas (approximately $17 - $25 each) and 6 mains (roughly around $46 - $52 each). All of the food came out promptly and they were delicious especially the truffle mash which was buttery and rich!
The bill arrived and we were under the impression that 3 Mains would be complimentary. However, only 2 Mains (which are equivalent to $46 & $47) were deducted but all 3 of our Entertainment cards No.22 were crossed out at the back. It left us puzzled why and the waiter suggested us to ask the receptionist instead. So, we approached the receptionist by the name of Mable and asked her about the offer in Entertainment Book. She said the bill is correct and she has taken 3 of the cheapest Tapas off our bill. We asked which of the 3 and were told “Obviously, 3 of the cheapest which are $17, $17 and $25”. When we advised her that those are Tapas, not Mains and that is not what Glass advertised in Entertainment Book. We strongly believed that the restaurant should honour what they advertised. She dismissed it and said “We treat Tapas as Mains”. I am certain that 3 tapas in total did not add up to $93 altogether! That was a rather rude response and she wouldn’t proceed with fixing the bill/our Entertainment cards.
Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our meals but we were not impressed with the receptionist's customer service. It was rude and incredibly humiliating. The attitude of the receptionist is not what you would expect from a restaurant of this standard. Otherwise, it would have been a wonderful experience and perfect evening.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glassbrasserie, Owner at Glass Brasserie, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear joyeel,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent dining experience at glass brasserie.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our food, service and the ambiance of the restaurant on your birthday dinner, but I am very sorry to learn that you had an unpleasant encounter with one of our receptionist's. This is certainly not the standard of service that we strive to offer and promote, and we will use the precedence of your instance to better improve our customer service.

We hope that this encounter doesn't inhibit you from dining with us again and we hope to have the pleasure of hosting you for a more memorable meal in the near future.

Best regards,
Luke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    102
    32
    21
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Elegant and enjoyable lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

We enjoyed a delicious lunch with a helpful and attentive waiter. We appreciated the wide choice of tapas and smaller plates as we prefer these to one large meal. We still managed to order too much but everything was delicious with my duck croquetas and my husband's oysters six ways being stand-outs.
We also took advantage of the wine specials and loved the Grant Burges chardonnay, one of the best Australian chardonnays we have tasted.
The restaurant was busy with a good buzz and lots of fashionable people to admire.
The only drawback is the raucous shouting from the kitchen. I know this is a fashion but it is hard to enjoy a restful lunch with all those loud, strident, male voices making such an unpleasant din. Surely there are better ways for chefs to communicate without destroying the atmosphere of an otherwise elegant restaurant.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Great food but not very impressed with the receptionist!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We heard great things about Glass and decided to give it a try for my birthday two weeks ago since we are members of Entertainment Book which offers "one complimentary Main Course when another Main Course of equal or greater value is purchased".
There were six of us and as soon as we walked in, we were well looked after by our waiter who was very friendly and professional throughout the evening. Interior deco and ambience is fantastic!
We absolutely loved the house bread which came out nice and warm with Luke Mangans extra virgin olive oil before our meal. We ordered 3 sides, 3 tapas (approximately $17 - $25 each) and 6 mains (roughly around $46 - $52 each). All of the food came out promptly and they were delicious especially the truffle mash which was buttery and rich!
The bill arrived and we were under the impression that 3 Mains would be complimentary. However, only 2 Mains (which are equivalent to $46 & $47) were deducted but all 3 of our Entertainment cards No.22 were crossed out at the back. It left us puzzled why and the waiter suggested us to ask the receptionist instead. So, we approached the receptionist by the name of Mable and asked her about the offer in Entertainment Book. She said the bill is correct and she has taken 3 of the cheapest Tapas off our bill. We asked which of the 3 and were told “Obviously, 3 of the cheapest which are $17, $17 and $25”. When we advised her that those are Tapas, not Mains and that is not what Glass advertised in Entertainment Book. We strongly believed that the restaurant should honour what they advertised. She dismissed it and said “We treat Tapas as Mains”. I am certain that 3 tapas in total did not add up to $93 altogether! That was a rather rude response and she wouldn’t proceed with fixing the bill/our Entertainment cards.
Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our meals but we were not impressed with the receptionist's customer service. It was rude and incredibly humiliating. The attitude of the receptionist is not what you would expect from a restaurant of this standard. Otherwise, it would have been a wonderful experience and perfect evening.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“liver saving diet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

great food. beautiful space. interesting waiter experience. only offered drinks twice and second round never arrived. If any planned sense of meal timing, then a problem. If you just bring whatever when ready, then no problemo. Good way to save money. Lamb ribs and zucchini flower great.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glassbrasserie, Owner at Glass Brasserie, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear riddloor,

Thank you for sharing feedback on your recent dining experience at glass brasserie.

I am delighted to hear your positive thoughts on our food and space, but am sorry to learn that you didn't receive your second round of drinks. Service is a key focus in our restaurant and I will be sure to draw on your experience to better improve our offering.

Thank you for your light-hearted take on your food's arrival and we hope to host you again at glass for a more orderly and thorough experience!

Best regards,
Luke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Fell Short of Expectations”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

My fiancee chose Glass for her x0th birthday, after a previous delicious meal she'd eaten there. We had very high expectations from reviews and her experience.
The restaurant is tastefully decorated and has a classy, yet relaxed ambiance. The staff were all attentive, friendly and polite. The food was served quickly and was clearly made from very fresh produce.
We shared three tapas dishes for entree, all of which were delicious (Seared scallop, lemon curd, leek, bacon & horseradish; Prawn toast, smoked corn, chipotle aioli; Duck croquettas, tomato chutney, truffle mayo).
For main, I ordered: "Confit then roasted duck, spinach, grilled mango & fennel, marsala sauce". This was the best duck I have eaten in a Western restaurant, but still did not live up to Eastern standards. Our Western chef's need to study their Eastern peers to learn how to make this bird's inherent richness of flavour and texture really sing.
Our real problem was with the 'design' of my fiancee's main course and the reaction we received to our dissatisfaction. She had: "Snapper fillet, tempura prawns, Thai salad, spicy broth". A fresh snapper fillet was cooked perfectly, leaving it moist and tender with perfect skin. A Thai(?) salad was placed on top, consisting of radish and coriander. Tempura prawns (unfortunately overcooked) surrounded it. This was brought to the table, then without consultation, it was drowned with a mildly spicy broth. Sitting in this broth makes the snapper unpleasantly soggy and ruins the tempura batter. The delicate texture and flavour of fresh snapper and the fine crispness of tempura is totally lost to an insipid 'fish soup'.
When we were asked how we were enjoying our mains, my fiancee very politely said that she did not like the fish and explained why. This was met with stunned silence, then incredulity. At least one of the waiters was politely apologetic. The maitre d' told us that the head chef spent many hours crafting this dish's design and that it is one of their most popular dishes...that they have sold hundreds...but he would pass on our feedback. I had a feeling I had just been subtly(?) put in my place.
My fiancee soldiered through as much more of the meal as she could. Instead of the planned leisurely coffee and desserts, we took our leave. It was quite disappointing that a special occasion should end precipitously in such a well known and respected establishment.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glass Brasserie also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Glass Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glass Brasserie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.