We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, fast service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Giovanni's Restaurant & Pizzeria

Giovanni's Restaurant & Pizzeria
225 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
9251-8808
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,331 of 5,105 Restaurants in Sydney
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Seafood
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Whangarei, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good food, fast service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

I went with a friend during the Vivid festival and it was very busy but we didn't have to wait long for a table to be available. The staff weren't overly friendly but they were helpful, it may of been because they were rushed off their feet. I had the Camembert starter, lemon cheesecake and a glass of wine, my friend had steak with a mushroom sauce and the best lemon lime and bitters she had had. The food was yummy, served quickly and cost about $70 which I thought was reasonable. We didn't feel like we were being rushed so that was great. I would recommend dinner here.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    40
    23
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Tamborine, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Business like staff but nice food & location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

As I said staff weren't overly friendly or necessarily loving what they do but that's okay, [at least they were unobtrusive], a few minutes walk up from Circular Quay & we found this place, mid range prices & very nice food. Toilets upstairs [steep stairs] & I ordered one of the best lemon lime & bitters I've had. Hubby loved his chicken something or other & I had excellent gnocchi. Not an overly fancy or run down place hence you can feel fairly relaxed here even if you're not overly dressed up. I would go back on the memory of the gnocchi alone, they also had pizza [guess their title gives that away].

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great location good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We went here before walking vivid displays. Great food and service and excellent central location in the city.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley Vale, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

My partner and I dined at Giovannis tonight, and thought everything was lovely.
The atmosphere was nice.
The service was helpful, friendly and efficient. Dinner was around $70 for the 2 of us, inexpensive I believe, we did skip dessert.
Did notice quite a few people came in and ordered take away, mainly guys in suits from the surrounding buildings, which I think is a good sign of yummy food. We will be back again for sure. Hubby says mussels best he's had, lasagne was divine. Close to our hotel, easy walk, which was great!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good and cheap”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Good for dinner... quite place... libro pizza was great and delicious ... mushroom risotto was good to

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giovanni's Restaurant & Pizzeria also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Giovanni's Restaurant & Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Giovanni's Restaurant & Pizzeria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.