We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and wine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Forbes and Burton

Forbes and Burton
252 Forbes St, Darlinghurst, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia (Inner East)
(02) 9356 8788
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3,957 of 5,486 Restaurants in Sydney
Price range: $0 - $43
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighborhood: Inner East
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food and wine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

Very good style. There is a personal explanation of the menu that can be a little long, but is much appreciated. Its nice to receive an explantion of the food and an appreciation of your custom which is actually genuine. A matching wine to suit your course is also suggested and so far has been accurate. The staff are very friendly and remember returning customers. The food is amazing, a must try.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    11
    3
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good quality but strange food!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

A lovely setting with great service but I just can't get my head around some of the food on offer. It's a bit like someone decided to get an ordinary dish and make it different for the sake of it. I've never been tremendously satisfied with eating a 'proper' meal here. It's nice enough but there's something that makes me walk away thinking about my next meal.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Delicious, divine and heavenly food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

Delicious delicacies; welcoming, relaxed, professional and friendly staff; seating comfortably spaced in a historic sandstone room. The evening Riverina Lamb main and Chocolate Mousse desert are both heavenly. My partner and I have attended on a number of occassions in the evening and every time has been a pleasure. Intimate, romantic candlelight and fun, with superbly attentive and friendly staff and amazing food.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“We will be back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

This little restaurant which has recently changed hands, is up there with the best in Sydney. The food was wonderful, the wait staff very knowledgable. We have now been to breakfast and dinner. We will be back!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
331 reviews 331 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
333 helpful votes 333 helpful votes
“Don't miss dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED: Forbes & Burton has new owners for 2011. This place, a short walk from King's Cross or Oxford Street, is well known for breakfast and lunch and a great neighborhood find. Good weekend crowds.

BUT WAIT --- With the new owners, they are now serving dinner and this is truly a different and unique experience. A varied menu of "whatever is fresh" our menu had duck, steak and a variety of fish. It's not a long menu, but something for everyone. In addition, they are serving a "Sunday Roast" , typically a single roasted meat special (while we only had dinner, I'm coming back for Sunday!). BTW no reservations for lunch, breakfast or the roast.

What was truly unique was a sort of Asian-fusion spin on each dish. Not over the top, but just enough to ensure a special taste that you perhaps have no experienced. Quality is paramount and thus the menu does change based what local ingredients happen to be available.

The kitchen crew clearly enjoys cooking and it's apparent they are continuing to experiment with the menu. But the love of cooking is clearly in their foods.

Wait staff is enthusiastic, informative and friendly. Despite the 'fancy' food, the surroundings speak to a smart casual environment. Forbes & Burton is new and a bit away from any other restaurants (so you're not likely to happen upon it), but it's a easy stroll from the main areas of Sydney and worth the effort to find!

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Forbes and Burton also viewed

Stanmore, Sydney
Petersham, Sydney
 
 

Been to Forbes and Burton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Forbes and Burton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.