We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Authentic, Great Restaurant!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Athenian Greek Restaurant

Athenian Greek Restaurant
11 Barrack St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Wynyard)
9262 2624
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #517 of 5,190 Restaurants in Sydney
Price range: $0 - $38
Cuisines: Dessert, Greek, Seafood, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Neighborhood: Wynyard
Description: Well established as the finest Greek Restaurant in Sydney, The Athenian is located in an elegant heritage building on the walk to Martin Place. Offering traditional and modern mediterranean cuisine, slow baked roast lamb as their signature dish. Providing a customised menu catering for vegetarians and any specific dietary requirements.The Athenian is a classic and elegant venue with exceptional service and superb food at reasonable prices. With the love and dedication of a family owned and managed restaurant and forty years of hosting weddings and special events, this is one venue worth consideration. What makes the Athenian unique is their flexibility in catering to budgets as little as $41.50 per person for three courses without compromising on quality. Seating for up to 220 guests.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Very Authentic, Great Restaurant!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

My family and I recently dined at the Athenian on a Friday night before going to visit the Vivid Lights at Circular Quay. The service was fantastic, we were seated fast and offered our first round of drinks promptly. Food was great, very authentic, tasted like a traditional Greek, home-cooked meal. Very impressive after not having Greek food for a long time. The only downfall we received our mains half way through eating our entrees. Although the restaurant was fairly busy we felt like we were being rushed and would have much preferred the opporunity to finish our entrees and have a break before starting on our mains. My parents having dined at the Athenian previously said this had never happened to them before. Despite this I would be happy to return again, also having had entrees and mains for 5 as well as alot of alcohol, the overall price was very reasonable.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    23
    3
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Value for Money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Have been to the Athenian a number of times for functions and for lunch and dinner. They have never let us down. The food is authentic Greek at its best. The banquet is ideal for groups and you get a taste of a variety of dishes and salad. Try it and you won't be dissapointed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrigal, Australia
Top Contributor
292 reviews 292 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
207 helpful votes 207 helpful votes
“should be a five * review, but............”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

With another couple we visited the Athenian, Barrack Street (there is also one in York St), for lunch.

This review should have been a 5 * review, however.....................................

Really beautiful old building, previously Commonwealth Bank chambers, (if you go downstairs to the restrooms you will see the huge bank vault) and subsequently Cricket Club, interior beautifully restored with attention to detail and quality. Large and ornate Corinthian columns dominate the main restaurant area really setting the ambiance.

Extensive Greek menu - very reasonably priced. We settled for the white bait and taramasalata entrees, and we all had the Athenian Special ($22.50) as mains - which is essentially a tasting plate with melt in your mouth lamb shanks as the dish hero.

The food was excellent, the atmosphere excellent, service was also excellent - a really excellent lunch experience - except -> when paying the account - with credit card - the waiter (rather abrupt Asian guy) said ...."would you like to add a TIP?"

In my opinion = a tip is generally something that you offer as a reward for above and beyond service (in Australia) NOT something that you are asked to provide (even if the service was excellent) - this request left us with a bad taste in our mouths.

Would we return? Yes - however, if we were unfortunate enough to encounter the same waiter the answer to his request (which came as a bit of a surprise) - would be in the negative. The same level of service, normally - may have attracted a monetary reward.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

We heard of this restaurant and wanted to try it out. Did not disappoint. We had the Lamb shanks and cottage potatoes, moussaka and cabbage rolls in lemon and egg sauce. All super. The lamb shanks fell off the bone. We also ordered some calamari for sides, and the tzarziki yogurt dip with bread and lapped that up too. Desserts were some cherry gelato, and of course baklava with ice cream. The baklava was not that great with a very tough base. Tougher than others you get from Lakemba...
Service was quick and food wholesome on a cold night. Location wise it is convenient for weekend or business people staying around Menzies, Wynyard Travel Lodge, The Carrington, Four Seasons, Westin at Martin Place who are looking for something that is not hotel food related... Car parking wise we found a great spot right in front of Menzies Hotel for $3 an hour on street parking after 6pm. The meter only takes coins. Better than the $30 flat rates in parking stations. All up around $140 for 3 including drinks.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“The Lamb and Potatoes are Excellent !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Went there with work colleagues and had a variety of dishes ranging from char grilled octopus, oysters, chicken souvaliki and lamb and potatoes which was the stand out dish.

The lamb is salted and moist and falls off the bone...excellent.

Prices are average, service friendly and quick and I would definitely dine their again.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Athenian Greek Restaurant also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Athenian Greek Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Athenian Greek Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.