We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, excellent service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Sydney

Cafe Sydney
5th Floor, Customs House | 31 Alfred Street Circular Quay, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (City Centre)
0292518683
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 5,302 Restaurants in Sydney
Cuisines: European, Seafood, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: City Centre
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great view, excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Went there on Friday night after an early dinner. The restaurant was busy so we sat on the lounge area. I'm not a big fan of the chair but everything else just make up for it. The staff were friendly and helpful. We had a couple of small plates and a few cocktails. One of the best Negroni I ever had in Sydney. The oyster were so yum that I had to order twice. Will come back for proper dinner next time and for that unbeatable view of Sydney harbour.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,435 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    809
    417
    139
    49
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Faultless ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Went for my birthday and had an amazing time.
The food was cooked to perfection , the drinks flowed and the service impeccable .
Also really reasonably priced , no main course over 40 dollars

Can't wait to go back and what a view

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good food, great atmosphere, stunning view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

The food was very good and the dessert was particularly delicious. The staff was super friendly. Obviously, I don't need to emphasize the view from the restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Must try”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

The view from the restaurant is amazing - ask for an outside table on the terrace. There is an online reservation page. Comparing with a few years ago, I think they put more tables and more crowded now but the atmosphere is still great. The food and wine selections are good but expect a big bill - you are paying mostly for the great view and atmosphere.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent service, great food, incredible view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

The title says it all really. We saved this restaurant for our last night in Sydney and it was well worth the wait. The menu is extensive and beautifully put together. I had all seafood, my husband all meat - all dishes were great! The thing that maybe makes the place is the exceptional service. These guys really know what they are doing - attentive, knowledgeable but more than capable of backing off and leaving you to drink in your fabulous wine and the wonderful views. It's an experience not to be missed and I will definitely try to go back should I find myself in Sydney again. Make sure you book!!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Sydney also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Cafe Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.