We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular view, perfect for a special occasion” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Sydney

Cafe Sydney
5th Floor, Customs House | 31 Alfred Street Circular Quay, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
0292518683
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 5,099 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood, European, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Spectacular view, perfect for a special occasion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Enjoyed some really great seafood and wine on the patio overlooking the harbor. This spot is exceptional, and although the restaurant is pricey, I would highly recommend it for a special occasion.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,667 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    945
    473
    168
    57
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Awesome views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Beautiful restaurant in an amazing location. They have a huge mirror on the back wall so those facing away from the view can still see it. The food was lovely however I ordered pork and only got pork, no vegetables at all. They need to be ordered separately which really adds to the cost of the meal. Also the cheapest red wine was $54.00. All in all a great night out but bring your credit card with you.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

An exceedingly pleasant experience

The food is well presented , not original but excellent .Using local produce they have prepared an exquisite result .

Service is good and timely .

The trick is to sit outside , it's hugely important as the ambience is chalk and cheese

The overall quality is emphasised by the waiting list to book At least a week midweek and significantly longer on weekends

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Superb food,service & view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

On arrival we sat and had cocktails in the lounge till our table was ready we had arrived early for this a Tommy's margarita yummy. Our table was the first on a slight raised area so we had a lovely view of the bridge,tables were a little to close together but because it was quite noisy this was not too much of a problem. We did find that it was a little too dark in the restaurant. All the food we had was excellent Morton bay bugs to start (don't let the name put you off) followed by one pork & a steak both amazing accompanied by the roast potatoes. It was difficult to choose as there was quite a few dishes I wanted to try. We both decided to go for a third course a the cheese selection & pannacota generous severing on all the courses. The service could not be faulted through out the evening.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Unbeatable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

I was visiting Sydney and hosted a business lunch with about 12 people. Interesting menu with wonderfully presented food. Nice wine selection as well. However, it's the view of Sydney harbor that is absolutely stunning. Worth the price of admission.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Sydney also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Cafe Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.