We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, OK food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Sydney

Cafe Sydney
5th Floor, Customs House | 31 Alfred Street Circular Quay, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Central Business District)
0292518683
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 4,979 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, European, Australian, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great view, OK food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Fantastic views of the harbor bridge and opera house. Chic ambiance, good food (not great by Sydney standards) and very good service.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ADDHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Lovely final night with my family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Arranged an evening with my family on the final night of my parents trip to Australia. It was a perfect evening. Food was fantastic, setting amazing and the service was great. Would recommend Cafe Sydney as a place to visit for anyone coming to Sydney.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bevin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“It is a business, if you need reminding”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Like all restaurants this is first and foremost a business. And the staff at Café Sydney are hellbent on making sure you know it. From booking staff to reception to the waiters we were constantly reminded we had the table only until 7:45PM then we would have to leave. When ordering we had to ask about the preparation times so that we could adhere to this money-grubbing policy. We ordered wine by the glass, skipped entrees and had no time for dessert or coffee. Having said all that we could not fault the food. I just loathe these multiple sittings at restaurants these days all for the sake of maximising turnover.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GekkoSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely out of this world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

My partner and I had been recommended this restaurant by many people, so when my mother, father and sister came to visit we thought it would be most fitting to take them on there final night in Sydney. After wondering around the block a few times due to google maps not being so clear, we eventually arrived and WOW. That is the only word to describe this magnificent restaurant. We had a wonderful waiter who was amusing yet very helpful at the same time with what can only be described as the best view in the house of the Sydney Harbour Bridge and the Opera house. We all ordered a mixture of wines (of which the waiter knew like the back of his hand) and different meals. Each and everyone of us loved the meal. My mother ordered the Lobster which she said you can tell it was previously frozen rather than fresh but still very much enjoyed it. I highly recommend the steak, which was just perfect.

We don't live in Sydney but every time we visit from now on i will be sure to visit this amazing restaurant with amazing staff and fantastic atmosphere. What a perfect evening! One of the best meals i have ever eaten.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WUK94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Its definitely not a Café”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Nestled right in the middle of central Sydney, this place looks out to all of Sydney’s attractions. If you can get past the view the food is really good and has been consistent over the years, very modern Australian. The only thing I could say was not up to scratch is the service. Just a little slow. Other than that, it is a recommended place for any local and tourist.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank horsecakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Sydney also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Cafe Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing