We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cafe Sydney, great for special occasion” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Sydney

Cafe Sydney
5th Floor, Customs House | 31 Alfred Street Circular Quay, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
0292518683
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 4,210 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, European, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Upper Hutt, Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“cafe Sydney, great for special occasion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We sat inside, view was still fab, service was great and food was yummy, specially enjoyed the prawns and the pineapple upside down pudding,

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,703 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    964
    485
    172
    57
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leura, Australia
1 review
“Cafe Sydney was Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Great night! Spectacular view of the Sydney harbour. Sat on the verandah yet it was cosy due to heating and warm blankets supplied for each person. Service was impeccable, all staff were fantastic, food was yummy, children were served first and thoroughly enjoyed their meal. Desert was amazing. Would recommend to all for a special occasion dinner overlooking Circular Quay.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great view, good food, a little too expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I have been to Cafe Sydney twice over the past two years and with similar experiences. The decor and view is excellent and is as good as just about any other restaurant in Sydney. The food is good, but not quite up to the standard of similarly priced restaurants in the surrounding area. Service is as should be expected - professional, yet friendly. My only real issue is that the food is about the same as restaurants with better reputations and more interesting food. And you have to pay for your bread rolls!! In summary, if you have a healthy budget and you want to treat some out of town guests to a great view, this is a place to visit. On the other hand, if you want to sample some outstanding food and you are happy to pay for it, there are better places to visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Great for lunch, dinner - a family favourite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I first came here 10 years ago for an anniversary, and have probably returned here once every 2 years since for various occasions.
The service and food is consistently good, and the price isn't ridiculous.
At lunchtime the view is stunning, with the sunlight coming through the front, and at night the atmosphere is completely different, and a completely different view to look at!
I have also been here for just drinks where you are seated further back, again a different experience.
Overall I would recommend.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“A birthday surprise to remember!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend took me to Cafe Sydney as a surprise for my birthday. I didnt have any idea this place even exsisted so you can imagine my surprise when I clocked the view and was told our table was on the terrace. This is totally worth it even in July, they provide blankets and have heaters. The restaurant is lit excellently to provide an fab atmosphere. Service from the minute we stepped off the elevator was brilliant and we were shown to the bar and then table (and that view) in quick time.
The menu was great with enough choice, they had sold out of my first choice but it wasnt too much of problem. I had scallops and ocean trout and my boyfriend had quail and beef tenderloin. We both agreed it was easily the best meal we have had. I cannot fault one thing, it was the most perfect, most memorable surprise from someone who knows me very well as it was all things I love, great food, great wine and unforgetttable views!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Sydney also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Cafe Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.