We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cafe Sydney was Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Sydney

Cafe Sydney
5th Floor, Customs House | 31 Alfred Street Circular Quay, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (City Centre)
0292518683
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 5,158 restaurants in Sydney
Cuisines: European, Seafood, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: City Centre
Leura, Australia
1 review
“Cafe Sydney was Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Great night! Spectacular view of the Sydney harbour. Sat on the verandah yet it was cosy due to heating and warm blankets supplied for each person. Service was impeccable, all staff were fantastic, food was yummy, children were served first and thoroughly enjoyed their meal. Desert was amazing. Would recommend to all for a special occasion dinner overlooking Circular Quay.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,193 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    669
    348
    115
    44
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great view, good food, a little too expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I have been to Cafe Sydney twice over the past two years and with similar experiences. The decor and view is excellent and is as good as just about any other restaurant in Sydney. The food is good, but not quite up to the standard of similarly priced restaurants in the surrounding area. Service is as should be expected - professional, yet friendly. My only real issue is that the food is about the same as restaurants with better reputations and more interesting food. And you have to pay for your bread rolls!! In summary, if you have a healthy budget and you want to treat some out of town guests to a great view, this is a place to visit. On the other hand, if you want to sample some outstanding food and you are happy to pay for it, there are better places to visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Great for lunch, dinner - a family favourite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I first came here 10 years ago for an anniversary, and have probably returned here once every 2 years since for various occasions.
The service and food is consistently good, and the price isn't ridiculous.
At lunchtime the view is stunning, with the sunlight coming through the front, and at night the atmosphere is completely different, and a completely different view to look at!
I have also been here for just drinks where you are seated further back, again a different experience.
Overall I would recommend.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A birthday surprise to remember!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend took me to Cafe Sydney as a surprise for my birthday. I didnt have any idea this place even exsisted so you can imagine my surprise when I clocked the view and was told our table was on the terrace. This is totally worth it even in July, they provide blankets and have heaters. The restaurant is lit excellently to provide an fab atmosphere. Service from the minute we stepped off the elevator was brilliant and we were shown to the bar and then table (and that view) in quick time.
The menu was great with enough choice, they had sold out of my first choice but it wasnt too much of problem. I had scallops and ocean trout and my boyfriend had quail and beef tenderloin. We both agreed it was easily the best meal we have had. I cannot fault one thing, it was the most perfect, most memorable surprise from someone who knows me very well as it was all things I love, great food, great wine and unforgetttable views!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Just Perfect !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Great value for money - food - wine - view - tick tick tick. The staff are great. The view from the terrace dining area is superb and given the high cost location you will not find better value for a fine dining venue. Steven and Kim - Hobart Tasmania.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Sydney also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Cafe Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.