We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food amazing view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Sydney

Cafe Sydney
5th Floor, Customs House | 31 Alfred Street Circular Quay, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (City Centre)
0292518683
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 5,302 Restaurants in Sydney
Cuisines: European, Seafood, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: City Centre
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Amazing food amazing view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

The style and ambience of this restaurant is excellent
The food was amazing with the best beef I have ever tasted any where in the world!
Booking process was easy and the staff were are friendly and helpful
Can't wait to go back

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,435 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    809
    417
    139
    49
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service with an amazing view.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Went here last Saturday night for a romantic dinner just two of us. We sat right next the window, which had an amazing of the water and Harbor Bridge, even though it was cold and raining the whole day it did not damped the view at all.

Having wanted to eat at this restaurant for quite some time the food defiantly lived up to the hype!
Entree and mains were great, and we were so happy to have ordered dessert - that was amazing. We were so full and stuffed by the end, you could practically roll us out!

Price wise it was reasonable considering we had entrees, main and dessert with wine not a place you would dine all the time but nice to spoil yourself every now and then.

Would like to come back for lunch and experience the view in the day time.

Only negative is you have to book a long time in advance, being the Saturday night it had to be booked 3 months prior but you expect that for place like this.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food, service and view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

My family and I ate in Cafe Sydney for my parents Wedding Anniversary and had been told by many people how great it was. We were not disappointed! We were lucky enough to sit outside and luckily the weather was sunny even though it was winter. We had a lovely meal and everyone was really impressed with everything we had. As it was a special occasion we took advantage of all the courses and different wines with courses and everything was top notch!

We ate on a Sunday afternoon and we were booked in later in the service, however no one gave us timings when we need to be out. We arrived early and didn't delay any of the meal, but towards the end of our meal the staff started clearing away the balcony, moving tables and winding up the awning which made it freezing cold! It really ruined the end of the meal but we still had a lovely time.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Amazing!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I had dinner at Cafe Sydney after 2 friends recommended it. It was amazing! We sat outside, the view was spectacular! They gave us blankets to keep warm in addition to the the heaters. The service was great. It's a trendy hot spot if that is what you are looking for. Definitely worth a visit for couples visiting Sydney for the first time!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Great food, great location, ticks all the right boxes. We used our Entertainment book gold card with no problems and it made for a good saving. Wonderful restaurant for a special occasion.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Sydney also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Cafe Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.