We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! What an experience.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Sydney

Cafe Sydney
5th Floor, Customs House | 31 Alfred Street Circular Quay, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (City Centre)
0292518683
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 5,319 Restaurants in Sydney
Cuisines: European, Seafood, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: City Centre
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Wow! What an experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We were here to celebrate a family birthday! The memory of this will stay for a long time! The views are just great, the service is spot on( not overdone but right) the food was fabulous! What better view can there be in the whole of Sydney? Forget the price just go for the experience! You will not regret it!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,440 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    812
    418
    140
    49
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Sun, sea and boats. Great setting.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We have just enjoyed a lovely lunch at Cafe Sydney on a recommendation. Very glad we listened as the views of the Sydney Harbour, Bridge and Circular Quay are world class and at just the right level (5 story's). Service was excellent as we sat in the bright sunshine on a glorious clear Sydney day and menus, water etc were all delivered when seated. Chatting with our waiter he admitted that every day at work here is good - no surprises there.
Starter to share was Wagyu Carpaccio. Thin slices of heaven on a plate and with a little squeeze of lemon added they were perfection. Shared mains of the seafood platter was a visual feast to savour before even starting to think of destroying this art on a three tiered platter. All fresh and with various dipping sauces and a nicely chilled bottle of Chardonnay this is dining at its best.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“All the reviews are spot on!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

End to end this experience was truly exceptional. Read the reviews and with every Excellent rating we heartily concur. The view, the service, the food, the wine and the atmosphere were superb. There is a grace and easiness about great restaurants -- they know they are terrific, and they are confident from the moment they greet you that you will agree. We spent $250 for the two of us...and though this is not a small venue, we felt like we almost had private dining. It is difficult to put into words this kind of experience...so we suggest you make and reservation and find out for yourself! Very highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Amazing, achingly cool restaurant in great location. The view even at night is breathtaking. The food and service were both excellent. Don't go expecting a cafe with cafe prices, it's anything but and we'll worth it for the whole experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great food, Great location, Great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Cafe Sydney's name is misleading. It's not a cafe at all; in fact, it's a high-end posh restaurant located on the top floor of the library in Circular Quay.

The place has a smart casual/formal-ish dress code.

The place is grand! Beautifully structured and you have one of the best views of the city. I highly recommend going at night. Or on Sunday mornings there's even a jazz band.

The food is expensive! Very expensive! You could probably get better tasting food for much cheaper but when you come to Cafe Sydney, you are forking out the moolah not for the food but for the experience! And i must admit, it truly is an experience. The food is pretty great, the place is beautiful, and eating at night is just an experience you WILL HAVE to try out for yourself. You will feel very RICH!

I had the best desert EVER at Cafe Sydney. Can't remember what it was exactly but remember it had pear in it.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Sydney also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Cafe Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.