We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had the ribs but I've had better.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of I'm Angus Steakhouse

I'm Angus Steakhouse
The Promenade, Cockle Bay Wharf | Darling Harbour, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
1300 989 989
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #634 of 5,486 Restaurants in Sydney
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Seafood, Dessert
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Scenic view, Doing business, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Had the ribs but I've had better.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

Our waitress was bubbly, prompt and magnificent! My co-diner enjoyed his medium rare immensely. My beef ribs were good but I have had better (a tad tough). Overall however, a great experience- thanks mostly to our lovely (tongue-pierced) waitress.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    148
    60
    26
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

We arrived here late one night as they were about to close and I was expecting to be turned away even though there were people still eating. The waiter found us a table and told us to take our time.
I ordered the Kangaroo steak and my wife ordered the Fillet steak. I found the food beautiful as did my wife and if we ever return to Sydney we would definitely return here for a meal.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great Location, Nice Food, Service lacks a little bit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

We took family here for their last night visiting us in Sydney. With good weather, it is a great place to sit and enjoy the view of the harbour.

As for the food, the steak was cooked perfectly. The salt and pepper squid was nice, and had a great passionfruit sauce (I think thats what it was) on the side.

The service wasn't anything great. It took us asking 3 times for them to bring waters. Our server cleared 3 out of 4 empty plates and walked away. We ordered a second bottle of wine, and she brought it to the table and left it, unopened. I suppose its just poor attention to detail. She did talk me out of the lamb, and into a steak which I throughly enjoyed.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Ok Steak; Service is nothing Special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

Coming from Alberta, Canada (home of award winning Alberta beef) I am quite picky when it comes to my steaks and I found that the quality in both New Zealand & Australia does not measure up to that of home. That said, I did have a good steak at this establishment at rather exorbant prices, I spent about $50 on a nice steak plus a drink, the service was decent but considering the atmosphere, I was hoping for something with more effort.
The location is convenient on Darling Harbour

  • Visited January 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Cary, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Once again very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2010

Once again I'm Angus produces great food and atmosphere. We had a reservation for Christmas Day and the restaurant was busy. But service was very good and the food was delivered promptly.
I had requested and outside table and it was reserved. The steaks are as good as ever. We come back to Sydney every two years and make a point of visiting I'm Angus.
The waiter was very friendly considering he was having to work on Christmas Day.
Once again very good.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed I'm Angus Steakhouse also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to I'm Angus Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage I'm Angus Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.