We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pub chow” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nelson's Brasserie - The Lord Nelson Hotel

Nelson's Brasserie - The Lord Nelson Hotel
19 Kent St - The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (City Centre)
(02) 9251 4044
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #184 of 5,211 Restaurants in Sydney
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: Australian, Brasserie, Pub, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Neighborhood: City Centre
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Pub chow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Really great value for money. Service was good and the setting was authentic with a nice local vibe.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    60
    12
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Great pub and great food !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

After getting recommendations on the TA forums, we had put this pub on our list of places to go to. So glad we did ! What a charming setting. Had lunch at the pub, smoked salmon salad which was awesone and the chicken curry which was also awesome (we shared plates). Their beers were really good too. Loved the atmosphere, the staff was really nice and it was very affordable. I would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester County, New York
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Brasserie and Pub - Both Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This TripAdvisor seems to combine two different restaurants in the Lord Nelson Brewery Hotel. Since we ate at both, I'll review each separately.

The pub is on the first floor and is a traditional English-style pub. They brew several different ales - we tried three and all were excellent. We were there at lunch time, and asked how large the plates of Fish and Chips were. We were told that they were substantial, so we ordered one plate between us and there was plenty to share. We are very familiar wit Fish and Chip and both agreed that it was the very best we had ever had. They use a tempura batter. I had read a TripAdvisor review that the fish was all but nonexistent and that it was all batter - not the plate we had - it was a god solid portion.

The Brasserie is up one flight (again, no elevator) and is a formal, sit-down restaurant. The menu (both menus are on their website and were the same there as in the restaurants) is completely different from the pub - much more formal. We had no appetizers, but ordered rack of lamb medium rare and it came perfectly done and was delicious. We ordered two of the side vegetables which were very good as well. Add a glass of Tasmanian pinot grigot and an ale from down stairs, and I think the bill was around A$100. Service was very good - our waitress was very knowledgeable about the menu, efficient, and pleasant. Again, price is not bad for Sydney!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best pub in best location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Best service
Best pints
Food absolutely divine
Great atmosphere.
I thoroughly recommend anyone visiting Sydney to make the effort to drop in and have a feed and a pint.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Worth the walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Recommended by a guy we met in St Kilda, Melbourne. Was a bit of a walk above the Rocks but worth it. Husband says beer was great. Was worth the walk for the meal. If you like Pork Pie, they do a really good one. Great value for money and a good atmosphere with families welcome. Lovely old establishment.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nelson's Brasserie - The Lord Nelson Hotel also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Nelson's Brasserie - The Lord Nelson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nelson's Brasserie - The Lord Nelson Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.