We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chat Thai

Chat Thai
20 Campbell Street | Haymarket, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
9211 1808
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #117 of 5,099 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $9 - $17
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“good find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

we stumbled upon this place while working down to Chinatown. We noticed it mainly because of amount of people waiting outside. It wa s busy & bustling but we only had to wait about 5 minutes at lunchtime. As previous reviews have said tables are very close together. We shared a number of dishes which were lovely especially the pad thai. Reasonably priced for a quick meal.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    183
    42
    13
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Top Contributor
305 reviews 305 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 125 cities Reviews in 125 cities
212 helpful votes 212 helpful votes
“Authentic spicy food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I love Chat Thai in Campbell Street – an extensive menu of authentic, spicy food at very reasonable prices.

It's not a place for a leisurely meal in quiet surroundings, but is ideal for a quick, delicious feed.

On my most recent visit, we shared a pork skewer entree; green chicken curry (fantastic) and pork with greens plus a large rice.

It was a bargain at $52, including a Singha beer and wine corkage ($3 per person).

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kawhia,New Zealand
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Okay meal But cramped ambience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

The meals were tasty and ok
But the dining area is very cramped
And not restful
My main had an unusual flavour and although I liked it there were taste aspects of it I didn't like.
My husbands prawns were good

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great food surprising price and fresh”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Perfect for a pre theatre meal, the food is so fresh and full of real Thai flavours, we ordered 3 entrees and 3 mains, it was just right. Fish cakes, spring roll and chilli sausage were excellent. Keep going back to work your way through the menu. Service was attentive and quick, staff were very friendly and the restaurant buzz was brilliant. Get seat near the front kitchen to get some live entertainment.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very dissapointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Chat Thai is completely over-hyped in every aspect. I came with a group of my friends with high expectations and was very dissapointed at the end of it. The waitress we were assigned to had limited menu knowledge and was unfriendly and slow to take our orders. Only 5 minutes later after placing our order, one of my friends recieved her dish much before the rest of us. The dish was luke warm and nearly cold, so obviously the dish was waiting on the counter for somebody to order it. Between the rest of my friends all our meals came at different times. I don't know if this is one of their standards, but it doesn't make for a memorable dining experience espicially between a group of friends. And the food was simply ok.. I have had much better Thai in other restaurants where you don't have to wait 20 minutes for a table.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chat Thai also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Chat Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chat Thai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.