We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fish Face

Fish Face
132 Darlinghurst Road, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia (Inner East)
9332 4803
Improve this listing
Ranked #588 of 5,099 Restaurants in Sydney
Price range: $0 - $94
Cuisines: Japanese, Seafood, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Inner East
1 review
“Exquisite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

We were recommended to dine here by colleagues that spent a few years in Sidney and though the location has changed, everything was superb. There is definitely a cool vibe to the room and the service spot on with an attitude edge that you would expect. Aka they are only going to engage you if you have something intelligent to say about haut cuisine. Why on earth would you order battered fish at a place where the guy goes to the fish market every morning? We had bugs, sashimi, prawns, crisp skin John Dory and Gouper. The favours shone through the delicate preparations. Word of warning, don't go if you are not a foodie because this is a temple and you pay for the worship. Philistines obviously don't understand as per the extreme spectrums of review.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    25
    8
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A no go”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Fish Face Double Bay was a big let down. I ordered the fish and chips. The batter was heavy and over cooked, the chips were standard at best and to add insult to injury it was served in a cardboard cone. Last time I checked you could get this exact meal, but better, at the beach and for half the price.

Speaking of price, charging $34.50 for fish and chips is criminal. What's even more criminal is accompanying said fish and chips with an old half pickle and an onion. Seriously, I was hoping to give my date a kiss at the end of the night and that's what you want me to adorn my mouth with? Eek! No thanks!

I highly implore anyone reading this to take my advice and spend your hard earned cash elsewhere! Capiche.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Special dinner ruined”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We booked this restaurant to enjoy our last night in Sydney with family. Turning up 10 minutes early we were sent away as our table wouldn't be ready for 30 minutes. So we left with a promise that they would call to let us know when it was ready. 40 minutes later we again called them to be advised that they didn't really take bookings and we just had to wait but they could seat us in another 15 minutes. No apology at all.

More time passed and we called again to see if our table was ready and were advised we Cousy wait another 15 minutes and then they might be able to sit us along the bar but would call to confirm when the bar became available.

No call came through and no dinner was had at Fish Face. I can't comment on the food but their attitude towards booking and letting people down is disgusting.

Very disappointing Fish Face.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“New restaurant not up to its aspirations”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Fish face has opened a new casual basic seafood restaurant in Double Bay. The restaurant is physically incomplete and is understaffed for a busy place. Service average. Waited long time for food. Other tables who were seated after us received food first. We received a cursory apology. The food is good, but very expensive for amazingly small helpings. Would not rush back. Do not have the chips, over cooked and recooked to many times. Better places for basic dishes in the Eastern Suburbs

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Out with the old and in with the new”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Fish Face Darlinghurst now converted to Fish and Chips by Fish Face was established by Steve Hodges. It was an extra special place to visit. The fish was prepared on site where the refrigeration was inside a cool-room. The cooking skills of Steve and his staff was exemplary. The fish and chips served in a cardboard cone “were” the best in town.
The new Fish Face opens in Double Bay on 13 December 2013.
We visited last Saturday 7th December 2013.
Three of us shared a salt & pepper calamari as a small starter. Good flavour but over battered.
Two of us had the fish (flathead) and chips. The fish was well cooked but the batter was almost as much as the fish. The chips were disappointing and soggy on the base. My wife had the Mahi Mahi and it was clearly overcooked and dry.
With the opening of a second restaurant in Double Bay it appears that Fish Face has lost its way in Darlinghurst. Hopefully only temporary!
I look forward to trying the new Fish Face in Double Bay.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish Face also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Fish Face? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fish Face, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.