We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best fish souffle ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fish Face

Fish Face
132 Darlinghurst Road, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia (Inner East)
9332 4803
Improve this listing
Ranked #541 of 5,175 restaurants in Sydney
Price range: $0 - $94
Cuisines: Japanese, Seafood, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night
Neighborhood: Inner East
Canberra
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best fish souffle ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The star of our dinner last night was my bream souffle for entre - I'd go back and back to eat that again. Closely followed by my kingfish main course which was wonderfully medium rare. My partner stuck with flathead fillets and the handcut chips and said this dish was excellent too.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    47
    21
    7
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Ticked every box”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Went to Fishface on Friday night. Had the most beautiful meal. Not often that entrees, mains and dessert all measure up. It isn't cheap but is worth it. We sat at the bench with the window open which was great. Also the staff were really friendly and the meals came out at the right times. Good wine suggestion too. Thanks for our best dining experience in Sydney. Do make the effort to go there. Its worth it.7

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiama, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“annoyed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Went in late saturday without having checked the prices and were shocked when we saw the prices but my wife and I hadn't seen each other for 2 weeks as she had just picked me up at the airport and we had just checked into our hotel (medusa very funky) 50 metres away.......
anyway, wanted to have a big whinge because the mains were so expensive..... but the food was fantastic, my wife and I thought it was the best fish we had tasted in a long time
and so now we're annoyed because we can't whinge about how expensive it was as it was worth every cent

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sammo50
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Last meal request...ocean trout petunia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

This is some of the best and freshest seafood in Sydney. You can get anything from the Sashimi or ocean trout petunia to fish and chips. Great attentive friendly service. A small wine list but it is also BYO!!! This has to be one of my favorite meals in Sydney and our go to restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Delightful Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

It's a cute little place (just a few tables and a counter by the window) but the food and service are fantastic! Our waitress was wonderful with suggestions and wine pairing. Had a very casual neighborhood feel. We felt like regulars even though it was our first time there and from 7000 miles away.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish Face also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales

Been to Fish Face? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fish Face, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.