We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent satay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mamak

Mamak
15 Goulburn Street, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
(02) 9211 1668
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 5,160 restaurants in Sydney
Price range: $9 - $13
Cuisines: Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Darwen, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent satay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Just loved the satay chicken and the nasi goreng! Good value as well. Very tasty. Roti canai also very popular. Overall a great experience. Could eat he satay sauce on its own!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    244
    178
    45
    16
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Worth the wait”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Ate here on a Friday night and we had to wait for a table but the line moves very quickly. Really enjoyed the food excellent value and super tasty. Highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Try the satay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The satay is one of the best I have had. It is amazing. Mamas is known for their roti and you won't be disappointed. Arrive early as a line forms quickly out the door. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Again, excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Every time I visit Sydney I come to this restaurant. I think it is the most authentic Malaysian food outside of Malaysia. It can be very busy and you may have to wait to get table. The Roti is awesome.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I went to this restaurant last week, it's excellent food and environment. there was a show for the chef. Friendly staff. I will go back again. It's very close to the CBD. A++++

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mamak also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Mamak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mamak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.