We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Roti in town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mamak

Mamak
15 Goulburn Street, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
(02) 9211 1668
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 5,231 Restaurants in Sydney
Price range: $9 - $13
Cuisines: Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Best Roti in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

It's worth waiting in a line to try this restaurant. Very busy restaurant but great food and cheap too.

Roti's are best as it's their specialty. Worth a visit when in Sydney.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    195
    49
    17
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Worth every penny!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We had heard that there was always a line for this place so we knew it must be good.

We went on a Tuesday might at about 5:30pm. We were lucky there was no queues. For a table of four we ordered two roti dishes, a main each, two servings of rice to share and a drink each. It worked out to be under $20 a head.

The place was busy but it was never hard to find a waitress or waiter willing to help. We were unable to finish one of the mains so we were able to take some home! It is a little noisy due to the amount of customers etc so if you are looking for a quiet place to eat this probably isn't it!

Overall great value for money and great food. We will be going there again!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Cheap and yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Went there last night and whilst there is a massive queue to get in the wait is worth it (though I was lucky enough to skip it cos of connections :) )! The menu is small but that is how it should be. Dishes are all specialised and authentic and the food comes out quite quickly. The decor is not upper class but that doesn't matter. This is all about the food. So long as that tastes amazing that is all that matters.
We had satay chicken and beef, murtabak, fish curry, some spiced chicken, kang kong belachan, ice kachang and chendol. It was like being at home with mum's cooking (I am of chinese malaysian descent).
I would happily go again. Prefer not to queue up (felt bad for those poor people who had to do it) but if it means I get a yummy fish curry and murtabak then so be it!
It is also good to know that this place is open until 2am on Friday and Saturday nights for the late night craving.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Malaysian Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Had the chicken curry, nasi lemak, mee goreng, sambal kangkong and prawns. One of the best, if not the best Malaysian food in Sydney. Service was quick and food was fresh. Beat the queue as my group went at 11.30 pm. Downside: food was slightly pricey and service crew forgot my request to separate the prawns from the nasi lemak as my girlfriend who was eating the nasi lemak was allergic to prawns.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fresh, fast and great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We had roti, rojak and kaya roti all of which were divine. The queue to get in almost sent us packing at 6.30 on a Friday night but hold tight, it's worth the wait! Being just the two of us, we managed to get a table pretty quickly and cut the queue (which felt amazing and cruel all at once). The service was fast and clearly highly optimised to cater for the high demand demonstrated by the never-ending line around the block. We didn't feel rushed though, and enjoyed every mouthful. It was pretty noisy in there though, with many large groups and people shouting to be heard - perhaps not best for the more romantic evening (depending on your style obviously!). Perhaps this place could benefit from some sound absorbers in strategic places....

We'll definitely be back for some more authentic, tasty treats.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mamak also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Mamak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mamak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.