We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty and authentic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mamak

Mamak
15 Goulburn Street, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
(02) 9211 1668
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 5,322 Restaurants in Sydney
Price range: $9 - $13
Cuisines: Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Tasty and authentic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Had dinner here service was friendly and fast food was tasty and as authentic as it gets. Was quite noisy but all part of the hawker vibe-maybe not ideal for an intimate date, but a great and definitely repeatable experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    312
    225
    53
    18
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“So so busy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Been here a few times, came back recently. What i noticed is that 90% of the menu is SPICY so those who cant take there chilli, you dont have much options. The place is small and squishy and the food, while good, is not authentic Malaysia food, its seems to be a variation

Prices are cheap, the ambienece is that of a food court,and food comes out at a reasonable rate.

There is always a line outside to get in, they are obviously doing something right

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious Malaysian food and great value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I recently went there for dinner with three friends. Mamak offers a big variety of delicious and authentic Malaysian food. We therefore shared different dishes, all of which were quite spicy and really tasty. The naan is light, fluffy and just delightful. The service was friendly and prompt and the dining experience was well worth the wait in the (fast progressing) queue. I'll sure go back there shortly.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“too good to miss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This place is great, the food is perfect and prompt. You also get to watch the pastry chefs make the roti's by flinging them over they're heads as you wait in line. Must try the roti kanai, lamb/goatcurry and the banana & vanilla ice cream dessert roti.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Authentic Asian (I think)”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Went here for lunch and had the red onion roti, and a vegetarian curry. The roti plus dipping sauces were great, and while the curry was certainly tasty, it was a little too hot for my tastes.
It tasted like it was very authentic (though I haven't been to Malaysia at all, nor had any food similar to Mamak's food).
After visiting, I read some more reviews and wished that I tried the satay chicken, because that sounded more up my alley...
Great fast and cheap lunch, and probably a very good meal for those liking the spicy food. Would visit again to try something different.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mamak also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Mamak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mamak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.