We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mamak

Mamak
15 Goulburn Street, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
(02) 9211 1668
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #75 of 4,238 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $13
Cuisines: Asian, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Takeout
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Want to try everything on the menu but unfortunately cannot in one day. Although it gets busy the food is always served with perfection.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    383
    299
    68
    23
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pasig City
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Mamak Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Always a great meal! Service was fast and efficient. Dessert was fantastic! Love the show the "roti chefs" put on while you wait...makes your mouth water...yum!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West Rocks, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“First experience with Malaysian food and was extremely satisfied!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

Walked passed this place the previous night and my wife was keen to try it. People were lining up so it seemed pretty popular. I have never eaten Malaysian food before so I was pretty keen to give it a go myself. We went early the next day (6:00pm) because we expected a long wait but were suprised to be seated within the first few minutes of being there. The place was already pretty busy and full at this point. Service was a little slow but expected. We ordered to regular roti, lamb, Malaysian fried chicken, nasi gorran rice. I was suprised by how quickly the food came considering how busy it was. The lamb was so tender and delicious. The roti was an absolute delight. Unfortunately the rice was spicy (was pretty good though) and numbed my taste buds so I couldn't quite taste the fried chicken. Wish I had tried it first. Nevertheless, I thought the food was better than expected. We decided to try the Roti Bom as recommended by another reviewer and we were not disappointed. IT WAS AMAZING! It really made my taste buds come alive and went fantastically with the ice cream. The sweeteness was spot on, and the texture was perfect. It will certainly go down as one of the best desserts I have eaten. Overall, I thought the place was excellent and have no hesitation in returning. I liked how the employee requested some feedback on the dishes when we paid. As for the price, I thought it was quite reasonable at $53 for two people.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Malaysian food in a busy place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

The roti (sweat and salted) are a delight. You can admire the cooks in the kitchen from the street while waiting in the line, which is usually pretty big. The good thing is, it goes pretty fast so you won't have to wait too long most of the time. Better to come as a small group.
The curry are very good if you like it hot.
And don't forget to bring your own (preferably red) wine ($2 per person/glass). Red bottle around the corner has a good selection and good prices in the city.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Food in Sydney Chinatown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

This was our second visit. There are no reservations here so you may have to spend a little time waiting outside observing how their chefs expertly craft the Rotis pastry. Its a relaxing place so no airs hire just good food, service at very reasonable prices.
Definitely worth the wait and sure you will not be disappointed. All sorts of roti is a "must try" and the nasi lemak, satay chicken skewers etc. are just yummmmmm.
Will be back soon.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mamak also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Mamak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mamak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.