We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Annam Apartments

Save Saved
You added Annam Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Annam Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21 Ward Avenue, Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #83 of 182 hotels in Sydney
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

We visited Sydney for a friends wedding and were looking for somewhere that was centrally located, within walking distance to shops, restaurants and public transport and was self contained. This property ticked all those boxes.
The staff were very friendly and went out of their way to ensure we had an enjoyable stay and give us pointers on places to visit as we were unfamiliar with Sydney.
Rooms are modern and clean and although there was some street noise, we were expecting this, being the city.
We will be returning.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    15
    8
    6
    7
See reviews for
5
18
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

We stayed here when we first arrived in Sydney and booked it again for our return. It is superb Value for money, great location and very helpful and friendly staff. Our apartment was very clean and our bed made every day. The location makes it so easy to get to everywhere, 20 mins pleasant walk to The Opera House. Yes,on some occasions there was a lot of outside noise but this could happen anywhere, you're in a city! Noise happens! even in some 5 star hotels, I always travel with ear plugs! Our relatives came with us when we first arrived and couldn't believe how nice it was. It was great value for money and had everything we needed. Thanks Laura for staying late and waiting for us when our flight was late...you're a star..

Room Tip: If you're bothered about noise, ask for a quiet room..the staff will try to help..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

We stayed here for 7 nights in early September. We were attracted to the hotel because the rooms were self contained and we could prepare a quick meal if we felt like it. We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived and found our room to be spacious, light and modern.

While there is street noise in the area we were expecting this being an inner city area.

Overall we found the staff to be friendly and helpful and the housekeeping staff efficient happy to assist with any requests.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2011

This is a very centrally based apartment which is conveniently located in the heart of Kings Cross and near to all amenties, Coles supermarket is practically on your doorstep, if you needed to stock up on anything, in this self catering apt, which i found to be regularly cleaned and towels where changed very regular to. Staff where extremely friendly & helpful.
Yes at night you will experience the nightlife of bussling Kings Cross which is to be expected, however it was bearable. I liked the fact that the apts where easy access to all transport links taxis/buses/trains so was ideal, this was my first time in Oz and would happily return to this accom again, really pleased with overall location, cleanliness and friendly staff, hope to return back again one day.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

Couldn't wait to get back home to get a full nights sleep! Very noisy location, especially on Saturday night.
Rooms were not serviced properly, bed wasn't made, bathroom floor not cleaned, dining table & stove top weren"t clean & dishwasher had a bad smell.
Staff were friendly but the rest was ordinary. Difficult connecting to wireless.
Would not stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

This is a good service apartment if you do not mind 24-hour of non-stop noise like drunk "mates", cars, police & ambulance sirens, bats etc... from the street even though windows are shut. Well... you can see the feedback on noise from others. Well... it is true. I will describe how it really is for those wondering between conflicting feedbacks. The window frames are a little loose and basically you are hearing the noise directly from the street. Just consider it as you are sleeping on street as far as noise concerned. But hey this is Kings Cross, the true center of night! If you are one of them (here to make noise), why would you complain about the noise from others. If you are looking for a peaceful nights, KIngs Cross is very wrong place to start with anyway. So, having all that said, hotel management takes your "feedback" with smile when you complain about the noise, and you will surely get some free ear plugs from them. To be fair, "apartment features" like the washing machine, kitchen, space... are OK. I would not call this a great service apartment compared to decent ones like Medina and Panthill, but if you got nothing else available for the time, just go for it with ear plugs. There are nice restaurants around the corner, too.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London (sojourning)
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

Really budget accommodation - just not worth it, find the extra $50 a night and stay somewhere decent!
The place is horribly noisy, despite being put in a 'quieter' room. I mean, it's on a constantly noisy road and sounds as though the windows are open.
Rooms - they're fine - plenty of space, decent enough bed, good enough kitchen etc
Cleanliness - poor - someone's hairs through the bathroom (unpleasant)
Location - it's really Kings Cross and, ultimately, a dodgy hole that noone should experience
Cost - it's cheap - I mean, you probably get what you pay for but I wouldn't allow my cheap-as company to put me up in such a poor place again.
Staff - nice enough but they know very little about the restaurants etc around the area.

Don't do it.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Annam Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Annam Apartments

Address: 21 Ward Avenue, Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
#68 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Annam Apartments 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Annam Suites buildings are a fresh alternative to traditional serviced apartments, reflecting a contemporary lifestyle at unbeatable value. Annam Suites properties are designed to provide both a dynamic living space and a unique experience whether you are a business or holliday traveler. Annam Suites offers you serviced apartments and the best rate for extended stays, corporate relocations, conferences, trade shows in sydney, family holidays. Business travelers and arm forces are welcome. Whether you are relocating to a new country, on an international assignment, traveling for business or simply taking a vacation with family and friends, it is your fond memories of a successful stay that we aim to deliver. Secrets of success encompass the balanced combination of physical space to work and live, personalised services and the living experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Annam Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Annam Apartments Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Annam Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.