We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dependable Chinese” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palace

Palace
Level 1, 133-145 Castlereagh St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (City Centre)
(02) 9283 6288
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,834 of 5,305 Restaurants in Sydney
Price range: $0 - $33
Cuisines: Chinese, Dim Sum
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Buffet
Neighborhood: City Centre
Plymouth, Michigan
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Dependable Chinese”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We found the Palace Chinese Restaurant just down the street from the Castlereagh Boutique Hotel (169) where we were staying. Service and food were very good -- I had scallops with snap peas, which I enjoyed. Prices seemed reasonable enough for a downtown Sydney location -- about evenly split between mains in the $20 and $30 range .There's a decent wine list here, as well. Dress is casual on up. We recommend the Palace!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    8
    6
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Good food at a reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

4 of us ate here last night. We shared a variety of dishes and each one was delicious. The other couple we were with eat here fairly frequently and had warned us that a starter was not a good idea as we would struggle to eat that and a main course. Good call. The portions were generous. Service was fast and efficient despite the place being busy. The cost was not bank breaking either.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Typical low grade service but great yum cha”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

One of the two Yum Cha places I go to for yum cha in Sydney.
Service is slow (getting additional drinks, extra dishes, etc) but the food is always at a great standard.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Good Yum Cha”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

Restaurant was busy, service was fast, range was good, food was nice. A good option for a weekday lunch in the Sydney CBD

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gearhart, Oregon
Top Contributor
473 reviews 473 reviews
266 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
227 helpful votes 227 helpful votes
“Average at best, service substandard but interesting sounding yum cha”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012 via mobile

We tried it twice for lunch. The selection sounded interesting and a couple of items were remarkable, most not so good. Service was hard to find but there was a big staff milling around. Sydney is expensive so maybe prices fair but seemed high compared to past experience in other cities. Beautiful restaurant.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palace also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.