We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“School canteen?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tropicana

Tropicana
Victoria Street, Darlinghurst, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia (City East)
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,355 of 5,486 Restaurants in Sydney
Price range: $9 - $22
Cuisines: Italian, Coffee Shop, Coffee Shop
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Neighborhood: City East
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“School canteen?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I have been given my history lesson with Tropicana, and might I say I was expecting something a lot better than stiff undercooked lasagna that was thrown on a plate and a chicken salad that had rotting leaves throughout.
You cant expect service in a self-serve restaurant/cafe so I can't say anything more. However, in regards to the premises I would have to say that tropicana has a very uninviting look and gives a very canteen vibe with their uncomfortable plastic chairs that you slide off.
If you like to work for your food almost as hard as the famer does growing the food and you enjoy stiff undercooked italian then this is the place for you, if not I would not suggest tropicana.
I dont do self service and sterile cafes so you wont see me here again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    15
    7
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Busy and buzzy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

A very popular meeting and eating place in vibrant Kings Cross! Cafe style, noisy, and tables jammed in, but great for people watching!
Lots of soups, salads and pastas, so plenty of dining options! An early opener( 6am) for breakfast and decent coffee! Of course the prices was also right!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Having stayed in this location for a couple of weeks have found this to be overall the best value for money. Great selection of food, great customer service, reasonably priced, service spot-on and quick to get your meal out. Well done.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A very good coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I have been to this cafe more than a time. I enjoy their setting and coffee every time I go. Its a nice place for having a break of morning tea. For my self, I don't recommend setting outside. The service is good. Their coffee is good but defiantly not the best in the area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“nice place for breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The food was decent and the price is pretty good for the area. We only ate here once but we didnt really have any complaints

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tropicana also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Tropicana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropicana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.