We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always amazing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coopers Hotel

Coopers Hotel
221 King St. Newtown, Sydney, New South Wales 2042, Australia
+61 2 9550 3461
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #332 of 5,319 Restaurants in Sydney
Price range: $11 - $24
Cuisines: Contemporary, Pub, Bistro, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Encapsulating Newtown chic, The Cooper's Hotel transcends from your homely local to a sophisticated bistro and deck bar. Celebrating Inner city life we are as diverse as our community. Our staff; their creations, service & energy tell the story of urbanity. Soak up the sun or sit under the stars in our Rooftop Garden, enjoy an array of delicious cocktails, finely selected wines and craft beers from our Garden Bar, or delight your tastebuds with some of our delectable tapas share plates and mains.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Always amazing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

Our absolute favourite pub in Newtown, frequenting at least once a fortnight. Food is always delicious- 'herb and pinenut crusted blue eye cod'- so so good. Atmosphere is always lively, even when it raining with thanks to the weatherproof canopy. Would highly recommend to everyone, we take all friends and family here when they visit!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    13
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“upstairs and downstairs...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

The Coopers is a strange place, entering the downstairs bar you're met with a group of sorry looking older singles scattered around the place seemingly drowning their sorrows in a schooner of Tooheys. The place looks ordinary and boring. Venture upstairs and its a whole other world; the place is lively, fresh, often standing room only (bar the dining area) and fun. The outdoor area is one of the better ones in Newtown. The food here is good, not great, but the perfect accompaniment to drinks on a long weekend afternoon. The Coopers is better enjoyed when the weather's fine, as space is at a serious premium when the heavens open.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Getting better with each visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012 via mobile

Went to Coopers for an early dinner. Very quiet but friendly atmosphere. The beer was cold and good and the rib-eye steak was the best steak I have had in months (and great value at $25 for a 350g).

They have reduced the menu and simplified the food, but this is better than the complex list they used to have.

This place gets better with each visit.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Improved”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

I visited Coopers again (hesitantly), after a really bad experience 6 months ago. I was very pleased to see a compete change around. The food, service and attitude were totally different and the place was full with happy families and couples. Not aware of the reason, but I would suggest a possible management review. What ever the reason, it was a very enjoyable experience and I would happily return for a meal.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Gone downhill and fast.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

I have been to this pub numerous times for a great and good value lunch and nice surroundings. Its been about 3 months since I last attended and the changes are immediate. The place was almost empty on a saturday afternoon at 1.30 pm (never a good sign, given this was a footy final saturday). The meal area was markedly less busy and the menu board was a complete blank (another bad sign).

We bought a round of beers and wine (very nice), and made our food selection (1 steak sandwich and two plain burgers and chips), what could only be considered a basic choice. We sat at a table and 45 minutes later (after two other tables got up, asked for their money back and left), a steak sandwich that had gone out and been returned twice, was placed on the table. This was sent back and another arrived in 2 minutes. 5 minutes later the first burger arrived, followed 5 minutes later by the other.

Instead of the turkish bread as before, it was a simple soft bun, the chips were packet instead of hand cut style, and the salad accompaniment was absent. All this for $18. The food was fine, but by the time it arrived (and the order it came), you sort of lose interest and just eat for the sake of eating, rather than part of a social event with family.

The waitresses were very nice and apologetic but there seemed to be some problem with the organization of the kitchen as a succession of food was being brought back and most of the customers were unhappy.

The whole thing seemed to suggest a change of staff/management along with the change of menu, and the end result was a poor, given how good it was just recently.

If they get their act together in the kitchen and either drop their prices, or improve the ingredients, it would be worth going back. If not, then they are just another pub selling take away level food.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coopers Hotel also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Stanmore, Sydney
 

Been to Coopers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coopers Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.