We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, great steaks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kingsleys Steak & Crabhouse

Kingsleys Steak & Crabhouse
10/6 Cowper Wharf Road, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia (City East)
1300 546 475
Improve this listing
Ranked #409 of 5,171 restaurants in Sydney
Price range: $0 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Scenic view
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: City East
Manly, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, great steaks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

A cold, wet night. We were provided with a booth inside quickly, soon after arrival and the service continued to be good. As it was a Monday night they had some winter specials on their wines which were good quality wines at a good price. The steak eaters and the vegetarian at the table all enjoyed their steaks and fish. The sides to accompany the mains were about $10 each. the chips needed to be crisper and the pumpkin and fetta salad had an inedible dressing and too much cos lettuce making it a poor choice. The sticky date dessert was delicious but the crumble was small and the apple still crunchy. However it was a memorable night due to the great mains and the fab location. A walk to the end of the pier seeing the lights was a perfect end to a lovely meal.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

74% Recommend
    50
    45
    19
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Generic Steak House-ish. Expected better for the location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

We walked in for an early dinner as we were staying at the Blue which is in the same complex. Service was competent. The steaks were OK but I would struggle to recollect what we ate after a a couple of days. I had the softshell crab as a side .. It was over battered. The location is great but the atmosphere in side was more like a slightly high end pub than a fancy steak restaurant. I'm giving it 4 stars as I had gray company and personally a wonderful evening.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good meal in very wet weather”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I want to it put between average and very good. We sat outside on a cold wet Sydney day under heaters which kept us warm. Great view of the city and the immediate water. Service was good and prompt, staff pleasant and helpful. The restaurant was busy but not full, probably due to the weather. We started with oysters, which were fresh and delicious. Then we both had steak, which we asked for medium rare, but were both a bit to the rare end than medium, however the flavour was good, could just have been a bit warmer. We had sides of roast parsnip and cauliflower. The cauliflower could have done with a bit more cooking. Parsnips were good. While waiting for the rain to ease we had a coffee, which was very good, no bitterness at all. We had a bottle of rosé which we enjoyed, the wine list has an average selection available.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great food, great service, even better location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Cards on the table to start, we didn't pay for the meal we had here, it was a prize in a raffle. But what a prize to win.

8 of us, plus a very young baby, we're accommodated at very short notice, and our waiter, Steve, was really helpful and friendly, as well as being very knowledgable about the menu.

This is a fabulous location and, even though it was June and therefore winter, we sat outside as there were more than enough heaters to keep us warm.

The food was outstanding, I think between all 8 of us we covered a good proportion of the menu, and the wine list was extensive and high quality. To be honest, I'm not sure how anyone can justify over $130 for a steak, but the cheaper ones we had were really good.

It was more special for us as we made it into a big family get together, and were made to feel very welcome.

Recommended.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful Food and Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Have wanted to visit this restaurant for over a year and recently enjoyed lunch here for my husband's birthday. Shared the yummy chili squid and garlic butter prawns for entree, followed by New York strip loin and eye fillet for main. Meat was cooked perfectly and was melt in your mouth deliciousness. For dessert the apple and rhubarb crumble and ice cream completed the meal perfectly. Would definetely visit again. Beautiful food and location.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kingsleys Steak & Crabhouse also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales

Been to Kingsleys Steak & Crabhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kingsleys Steak & Crabhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.