We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Malaya

The Malaya
39 Lime St | King Street Wharf, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (City Centre)
9279 1170
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #66 of 5,159 restaurants in Sydney
Price range: $22 - $89
Cuisines: Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: City Centre
South Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Delicious!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I am an Aussie born 'n bred and was on holiday in Sydney. This restaurant had been recommended so i decided to give it a go. I was staying in Martin Plcae CBD and walked with my friend very easily to the restaurant an then walked back to our hotel again after our meal. easy walking / felt safe.
The view was spectacular, the restaurant crowded and buzzing [on a Monday night!] ... yes we booked ahead and the waiter was sadly a tad disinterested but the food was SPECTACULAR!! We both loved every mouthful. [the waiter seemed to warm up as they ngiht wore on too]
I would say this was the BEST 'Asian' food I have ever had. It really was delicious. Not overly firey - not overly spicy - just full flavoured using spices that were well balanced and so so interesting. There were two of us and we had a bottle of wine. Cost was about $70 per head for entree and main and wine.
next time in Sydney. I will DEFINITELY eat here again!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    137
    123
    32
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bali, Indonesia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Always amazing !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

There were 8 of us dining and 8 people all with different demands and preferences about their drinks and food, all met with a smile, a polite 'of course, no trouble at all' and prompt service to us all. Well done to the staff at this restaurant, we were a bunch of well travelled and seasoned restaurant goers and you out performed some of the best !! The food was delicious, it always is, the location is great but the staff made the evening special for us all. We will be back when next in town. Thankyou for a great evening !

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good food but expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

The food is of good quality and taste however the dishes cost about 25-30% more than equivalent elsewhere. Part of the excess expense though could be justified by the location. The cocktails are very expensive and so is the wine list (quite an extensive range to choose from though). I probably will not return at the current price of menu items though would not mind if someone else was paying my bill. It is a popular restaurant - probably Sydney people have more cash to spare.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Laksa to die for”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

I have been here a few dozen times and can never go past the seafood laksa which is the best I have had in Sydney.

However I wanted to share the amazing food with my close friends for my birthday to only be told that a booking of more than 9 people requires a set menu. And there were no exceptions to this, they would not budge.
Very disappointing indeed- no laksa on any of the set menu's and it's so hard to cater for all with allergies and such.

Held the Malaya in very high regard until now, as the person on the other end of the phone was very rude to me about the set menu 'policy'. Get your act together Malaya, set menu's are not for all.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Give the Eggplant and the Prawns a go”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Szechaun Eggplant and Kapitan Prawns are the dishes to go for here. We have tried some of the others but always come back to these!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Malaya also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to The Malaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Malaya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.