We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Malaya

The Malaya
39 Lime St | King Street Wharf, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (City Centre)
9279 1170
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #66 of 5,162 restaurants in Sydney
Price range: $22 - $89
Cuisines: Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: City Centre
Pymble, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Consistently great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

One way or another, the Malaya has been around forever, yet seems to maintain consistently high standards. We went to Malaya for my son's birthday recently (his choice) Usually, we have salt and pepper prawns, Szechuan egg plant, special chicken curry, coconut pandang beef, and rice. Always the same, always excellent. It's also pretty much always full, so you should book.

If you can sit by the window, there's a nice view of Darling Harbour

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    138
    124
    32
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Always Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

A family favourite. Must have the Szeshuan Eggplant and the Special Chicken Curry (not on the menu) The service is fast and efficient and the atmosphere busy in a good way. If you like it hot, go for the Prawn Sambal!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Always exceptional - great service - stunning food. Ask to sit on the terrace - lovely view of the harbour.
Booking normally essential

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“My favourite restaunt in sydney”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

The most amazing food!
I love the Malaya. I have been dining at the Malaya with family and friends since they opened a long time ago. The Malaya is always consistant and the service is excellent with both staff and management. The Matradee Tree always goes out of his way to say hi to us and make us feel welcome. I cant even begin to describe how incredible the food is. I have tried many dishes from the menu but always come back to the amazing Kapitan Prawns and Rendang beef. Fantastic restuarant, incredible views and great service. What more could you ask for.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Location, Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We were lucky to have a large table by the window overlooking the whole of Darling Habour. It was winter but they have indoor gas heaters so no problems there. It was a business dinner for 12 and the food seemed to keep coming out all night. Lots of different styles, colours and tastes, a great selection with something for everyone.

I didn't pay the bill but I think we went for a set menu so nothing outrageous.

Staff were very friendly and efficient, I hardly noticed the constantly changing dishes.

Would love to go back again.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Malaya also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to The Malaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Malaya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.