We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tetsuya's

Tetsuya's
529 Kent Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
+61 2 9267 2900
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 4,147 Restaurants in Sydney
Price range: $165 - $165
Cuisines: French, Japanese, Seafood, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff
Description: Tetsuya's serves a ten course degustation menu. The degustation is unique, based on the Japanese philosophy of using natural seasonal flavours, enhanced by classic French technique and utilising the freshest possible ingredients. Tetsuya designed his own on-site "test kitchen" within the restaurant to enable him to create the constantly evolving and inspiring dishes on which he has built his esteemed international reputation. Tetsuya's offers one of Sydney's most comprehensive wine lists and our sommeliers will, upon request, match the dishes with wine available by the glass.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Adored it here. Not only was the food amazing, creative and exciting to eat - but our Sommelier was amazing.

We had the matching wines and he was attentive, friendly and even took us for a tour of the kitchens when we were getting a little bit giggly (after all that wine)

Obviously a very expensive experience, but I would DEFINITELY return.. I had such an enjoyable night, and we were definitely the liveliest people in the restaurant - to which we were encouraged!

I can't wait to return - and I really look forward to the changes in the menu for next season because it's just such an exciting place to visit for a foodie like me!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    471
    158
    71
    29
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Tetsuya”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This was on my bucket list of places to dine at. Good food and impressive environment. But it didnt wow me..perhaps i went to too high an expectation

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Highlight of a milestone birthday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

What can I say? I've had the opportunity to done at tetsuya's twice so far in my lifetime and it has been definite highlights of my culinary experience. From the moment you step in, and are guided through the journey from freshly baked bread to palate cleaners through meats and desserts, time flies and you can't help but leave feeling a little bit spoilt and a little bit indulgent and definitely a lot more appreciative of quality ingredients, fine techniques and a like you've travelled further than Sydney's Chinatown. If I could make a tersuya's a trifecta, I would be one spoilt girl.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Delightful Degustation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Japanese ten-course degustation menu was world-class with matching service standards by the staff on hand. Worthwhile considering if trying to impress someone special!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“World Class !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Spending the weekend in Sydney meant we HAD to do just one thing, No, not the Opera House, not the harbour cruise, not even the bridge walk ......................Yes! Tetsuya's!!

This, I believe, is the best restaurant in Sydney and would stand a chance of multiple Michelin stars, if they ever did a guide for Australia.

We were just wowed by the quality of everything about this fabulous place.

Sat where we were, we had a lovely view across the ornamental Japanese garden which instantly relaxes you, and just lets you know you are in for a special evening.

The waiter was so knowledgeable about the menu, and we ordered the degustation with wine accompaniment.
Every course was explained beautifully, and the chosen wines really went well with every course, no mistakes whatsoever.
The food was just sublime, every morsel beautifully crafted and presented, with tastes that were simply World class.

Overall .............. One of the very very few World class restaurants in Australia. Expensive? of course it is, however, the experience of such outstanding standards is worth every cent !

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tetsuya's also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Tetsuya's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tetsuya's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.