We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicous” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tetsuya's

Tetsuya's
529 Kent Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
61 2 9267 2900
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 5,478 Restaurants in Sydney
Price range: $0 - $440
Cuisines: Seafood, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Special occasions, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Delicous”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Tetsuyas, Sydney is a world famous restaurant with a mix of French and Japanese cooking techniques used to create an explosion of flavour in your mouth. This Michelin star restaurant will enlighten your taste buds with every bite while you drink, talk and share a good meal with your friends overlooking the fantastic Sydney landscapes. even though the price is something to worry about if you book in advance you will get a place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    444
    150
    70
    28
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Exceptional dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

My wife and I have dined at Tetsuya's quite a few times over the past 10 years and last nights devastation meal was as special as each of the previous times we have visited. They now offer only a fixed price devastation menu ( 10 courses) and at $210 a head, wine not included, you need a deep wallet.
The menu changes according to what is fresh at the produce markets on the day and we could not fault the flavours nor variety across the 10 courses. They do ask whether you have allergies or other preferences and not having taken that option I'm not sure what the substituted dishes may comprise.
We took the option of the additional course of premium oysters (2 per serve) which came with a thin dressing that brought out the full flavour of the St Helen's pacific oysters. At $18 for both portions it's worth savouring top shelf select oysters. These were followed by a small cup of hazelnut soup as an apparatif.

The first 5 courses of the devastation are seafood, with 4 of those sashimi. I could not falt the freshness nor the combination of flavours in any of these dishes. My favourites were the Tasmanian ocean trout, closely followed by the WA scampi tails. They work very hard on the combinations of flavours and accompanying sauces and they all worked brilliantly. The next 2 courses were meat based dished of rare duck breast fillet and saddle of lamb. Then the 3 deserts to finish off the feast which were all equally innovative and interesting. To round off the meal was a plate of exquisite petite 4's.
We had 3 glasses of wine between us rather than a bottle-the wine list is very comprehensive as you would expect.
In summary Tetsuya's continues to be a great dining experience-the wait staff are very knowledgeable, friendly with the right balance of attentiveness....true professionals in keeping with this being one of the best Australian restaurants

At just a touch under $500 for two, its a pricey dining experience which we reserve for extra special occasions, and we were not disappointed.

Being based in the city, once you walk through the gates you could be fooled that you had walked into a rural Japanese retreat. There is an amazing Japanese garden that each of the 2 dining rooms look out onto and it's seems miles away from the bustle of the busy city just metres away.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A taste experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed the experience, wine and service matched quality of he food. Nice location and outlook on Japanese style garden ( needs a bit of update).

You must go at least once

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very consistent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

It is easy to see why Tetsuya is legendary in Australia

The influence of his cooking style can be seen in trendy restaurants everywhere.

Food quality was also very, very consistent which is surprising because in top restaurants like these you often have hits and misses esp for a degustation menu. However, I must say it was not so easy identifying any specific outstanding dishes.

Also, as someone from Asia, where access to Japanese and other Asian cuisines is taken for granted, the food did not seem all that adventurous but that is probably more a reflection of what the Australian restaurant scene can accept. This is not intended to be a criticism, as Tetsuya's Waku Ghin in Singapore is much, much more adventurous, so clearly there is a difference in focus in the 2 restaurants.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Send the Ocean Trout back”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

With all the hype that surrounds this restaurant, we thought that we should try this out once-in-a-lifetime.

On our arrival we were seated in a small tacky room, not the main dining room. Is it was a celebration, we started with champagne, which cost us $40 glass. He probably bought the whole bottle for the cost of those 2 glasses.

Each course even though well presented, was as excepted small but surprising tasteless and lacked bursts of flavour. His signature dish, the Ocean Trout lacked flavour and after a few mouths, I said to my wife can I please send this back, but she would not let me,

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tetsuya's also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Tetsuya's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tetsuya's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.