We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A restaurant for special occasions” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tetsuya's

Tetsuya's
529 Kent Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
61 2 9267 2900
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 5,297 Restaurants in Sydney
Price range: $0 - $440
Cuisines: Seafood, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“A restaurant for special occasions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Tetsuya's has been ranked as one of the best restaurants in the world and it shows. The food is beautifully presented and very tasty. Unfortunately, I suffered an allergic reaction to one of the dishes despite being told that they could cater for my food allergies to gluten and to dairy. Despite this, I'd still recommend this restaurant if you are looking for a very special place for dinner. They permit you to bring your own bottle of wine, so if you have saved a very special bottle in your cellar this is a good place to bring it :-) Book ahead, especially if you go in a group and seek a table later in the week.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    408
    139
    66
    26
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Unique culinary experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Unique experience, out of time,you feel completely disconnected from the real world as soon as you enter the restaurant. We had a nice table overlooking the garden, quiet atmosphere though not overly intimate, the 4 hours tasting experience went by very quickly.

The food is simply amazing and would be quite hard to describe; you go from surprise to surprise the whole time.

We had a french waiter who made the experience even more enjoyable, he was attentive and brought a touch of decontraction in a place that can be intimidating at first.

Overall a memorable experience which is well worth it!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A shrine to good food, but who wants to eat on a shrine?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Beautifully presented food perfectly prepared and brought to the table by different wait staff who were alternatively indifferent or engaged and knowledgeable. Whilst each dish was thoroughly enjoyable, there was a total lack of atmosphere. My wife and I sat in a small dining room upstairs which had an almost clinical feel about it - perhaps there were other dining rooms with more atmosphere; I regret I shall never know - the total experience was not sufficient to encourage a return visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nothing fancy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We were slightly dissapointed with our experience at Tetsuya given our high expectations. We were seated at the window with a view of the Japanese garden (a nice serene setting contrary to the outside busy surrounding). The 10 -course tasting menu started well but started to get a bit bland as we moved from seafood to meat dishes. For us, the highlight were the 3 last dessert courses which was beautiful - both in presentation and in taste. The waitstaff were ok but a bit mechanical and did not showed the passion in the food and our satisfaction as in Quay. Overall, OK but not as good as the other fine dining in Sydney

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
299 reviews 299 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 129 cities Reviews in 129 cities
440 helpful votes 440 helpful votes
“Tasty Food, Indifferent and Slow Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

My spouse and I dined at Tetsuya’s in late August 2012. A few weeks prior to our trip, we booked a dinner reservation via e-mail. Tetsuya’s offers an 10-course tasting menu for $210 per person. Our total bill was about $540 with two rounds of drinks.

Tetsuya’s is located in downtown Sydney, near Town Hall and Darling Harbour. Valet parking is available at an extra charge. Chef Tetsuya Wakuda is one of Sydney's most famous chefs, and his nouveau Japanese/French creations are presented attractively. The location of the restaurant is attractive, set in a Japanese house that surrounds a beautiful outdoor courtyard with water features. There are three dining rooms, plus a bar/lounge area, all decorated with art and ceramics. Tetsuya’s has been on the Worlds 50 Best Restaurants several times. The restaurant serves dinner on Tuesday through Saturday as well as lunch on Saturday.

The dinner service was painfully slow. Lots of time elapsed between courses - perhaps 20 minutes or longer after one plate was cleared until another plate was delivered. As with our meal at competitor Quay earlier in the week, the staff shows no “food love”; no one cared whether we liked a dish or not, no one inquired about whether we liked a particular course, or even whether we enjoyed our meal in general. The general attitude of the waitstaff was pretentious and patronizing. They were unable to serve me an iced tea - our waiter said that he would check whether the kitchen could make some, but he never returned to deliver an answer.

The food was tasty, although not particularly memorable. We ate the signature ocean trout dish, but the portion was enormous for a multi-course tasting/degustation menu. The tian made of spanner crab was delicious, and the floating island dessert was unique.

Overall, our meal at Tetsuya’s was rather underwhelming.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tetsuya's also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Tetsuya's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tetsuya's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.