We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ho Hum!!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Vivaz Restaurant & Nightclub

Vivaz Restaurant & Nightclub
80 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (City Centre)
9251-4467
Improve this listing
Ranked #3,691 of 5,319 Restaurants in Sydney
Cuisines: Australian, Bar, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: City Centre
Sydney
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Ho Hum!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We managed to get a discount offer which made it an acceptable meal. However, at full price, it is not good value. The food was but disappointing overall. The main meal wa buffet style and consisted of chorizo sausage (overcooked and dry); pork belly (over salted and almost inedible); chicken wing (tasty but dry); braised beef (reasonable) - additional salads and veges were basic but tasty. Dessert was a simple fruit salad (mainly melons) and chocolate mousse (ok if you like melon and mousse). Service was extremely slow and the waitresses "forgot" our orders on several occasions. Entertainment on the night was a DJ and Brazillian Disco.
Over all "Ho Hum", and we won't bother going back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    3
    2
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Many Better Options if You Want Churrasco in Sydney”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We didn't stay for the dancing/nightclub so just reviewing Vivaz as a place to eat.
Ambience is generally a bit tired although if you are lucky enough to get a table near the windows then there are some quite good views of the Harbour and Opera House. We liked that the tables are well spaced but later on when they turned the music up (after about 9:15pm) then it got quite noisy for conversation.
Food is fairly basic, served canteen style i.e. they let you know that the food is now on and you form a line and shuffle past the counters selecting what you want until you get to the grill station at the end and are served a choice of pork, beef, chicken wings and chorizo. If you want seconds of something you stand in the line again. This did break down a bit towards the end and you could go and help yourself buffet style but the way it is organised and laid out tends to make people form a queue. Not really our thing. The refresh rate on the serve yourself dishes was poor so that when going back for seconds or some bread, lots was missing (although eventually they did replenish everything).
The meat was nice - well cooked and spiced, particularly the pork belly. With the exception of a couple of vaguely South American dishes (such as roasted peppers) the vegetables and salads were mostly fairly basic, a couple of different potato salads, a couple of different pasta salads, beetroot, tomato, green salad, cauliflower etc. The sort of stuff that you might see in a cheap hotel or a canteen of some sort.
Staffing was minimal. We ended up just about crash tackling a waitress to order a bottle of wine (although the list was quite reasonable as to quality and price) and then it took ten minutes for her to come back and tell us that they had run out of our selection.
We think that there are many better options in Sydney for this style of food but there probably aren't any cheaper ones, certainly not in town. Vivaz also runs lots of specials via the Groupon style buying services that make it even cheaper. That would be pretty much its major attraction.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Needs tlc, food average, not great vale”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Didnt know this place existed, went for a group birthday outing.
Looks in need of tlc. Seems to survive on bulk group bookings, hens parties etc. High volume, average food.
Food is a buffet for $45, not good value at all. The beef was great, the pork ok, the restjust filled the plate, oh the bread was great, if you found it.
Food left in warmer and on bar for extended time, not topped up as needed. Waiter took empty salad bowl to refill and didnt come back for 10 minutes with a queue of 20+ waiting. Sweets also left on shelf with no cooling and poor replenishment.
The website indicated sweets could include ice cream, not sure how they'd keep it cold.
Drink prices average.
Heated food unit looked in poor condition and ran from 2 extension leads running over the serving bar, not sure this meets oh&s standards.
Very noisy.
Would I recommend....No!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldton, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Value for money.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised after reading some negative reviews on other sites about this place.
It is located in "The Rocks" very close to the Harbour Bridge, and we were lucky enough to have a great view of the Opera House.
Four of us went to dinner using 2 scoopon vouchers for 2 seafood platters & wine. We were definintely not disappointed. There was a great selection of seafood, including Prawns Fresh & Crumbed, Oysters Natural & Mornay, Smoked Salmon, Pickled Octopus, Calamari & Tempura pieces. We purchased a greek salad to share which was plenty for the 4 of us. We had the choice of 2 different white wines, 2 reds or Sangria.
The background music was Latino and very easy listening. We were there quite early, and the live band was about to start as we left, but the vibe was very good.
The only negatives were that the service dropped off as the place started to fill up and some of the decor is looking a bit tired. However, it does add to the chachter of the building which appears to be one of the origingal buildings in the area.
It is not a classy restaurant, but we definitely got value for money and would go again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“a pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

I had never heard of this place and was quite excited when we headed up the stairs. The place is in need of a lick of paint & a bit of a freshen up, and the stairs to the ladies toilet is "deadly" for the high heel wearers among us. But you know it was a fun place, we all 22 of us had a fabulous afternoon/evening. The staff were great and very affable, and most importantly not bothered by a bit of cheek & bravado that goes with 22 girls on a hens night. The buffet was lovely, im not a fan of buffets but the food was "really good".
The only down side is the slow bar service, dont get me wrong the staff were great they just could have benefited from a few more barman to make getting a drink quicker.
All up a great night was had by all!!!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vivaz Restaurant & Nightclub also viewed

Stanmore, Sydney
 
Rozelle, Sydney
 

Been to Vivaz Restaurant & Nightclub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vivaz Restaurant & Nightclub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.