We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spring Tasting Menu - Sensational” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ARIA Restaurant

ARIA Restaurant
1 Macquarie St. | East Circular Quay, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
+61 2 9252 2555
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #71 of 5,110 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $36 - $70
Cuisines: Contemporary, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: ARIA is an award winning hatted restaurant in Sydney located at Circular Quay, on the very edge of Sydney Harbour, provides a dining experience with striking harbour views, with an award winning menu and extensive wine list, served in an intimate and elegant dining room. Owned by chef Matt Moran and restaurateur, Peter Sullivan, ARIA first opened its doors in 1999 and is highly regarded and awarded both locally and internationally. ARIA currently holds two coveted Chef's Hats and was awarded the, 'Diner's Choice' award by the readers at the Sydney Morning Herald Good Food Guide 2012 Awards.
Geelong
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Spring Tasting Menu - Sensational”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I recently dined here with a friend and my 12 year old foodie daughter on a "girls foodie weekend".
We enjoyed the "Spring Tasting Menu" with matching wines, matching water for the 12year old.
We were incredibly impressed with the standard of food, and could not fault any of the 7 courses. However the Peking Duck Consomme was the obvious stand out dish for all 3 of us. Highly recommended and would go again just for this dish.
While the wait staff were good it was the sommelier (Alex) that was sensational. Friendly, professional, relaxed without being casual and extremely knowledgeable.
The 2011 "Between Five Bells White" from Geelong Victoria a great discovery.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    675
    282
    169
    56
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Memorable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We had the seasonal tasting menu paired with wines. On request, the menu was modified to be vegetarian. The meal was sensational - beautiful looking and complex food with layers of texture and tastes and the wine pairing was spectacular with boutique wines. The service was polished and very informative explaining elements of the food, wine and why they were matched together. Views of the iconic Opera House and Harbour Bridge add to this special occasion experience.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Wonderful experience, we had food with matching wines. View is exceptional, service is great. We knew the cost before going so was no surprise, well worth it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A bit disappointing.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

For the price and the reviews this is underwhelming in terms of food and service. Its good but not fantastic. View all be it fantastic.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We had the tasting menu with wine pairing.
There were 2 of us and one wanted the tasting menu and the other couldn't eat as much so wanted to order alacarte but they did not allow that cos the entire table needs to order the tasting menu if you want the tasting menu at all.

I thought the food was good but many of the dishes I wouldn't have chosen (but I would put it down to personal taste rather than cos the food was bad). The best dish as the Duck Consomme which I totally did not expect!

The reason I give Aria a 4 in the end is actually the wine pairing. All the wines / sake paired PERFECTLY with the dishes. I was surprised at how well they did it.

Nice view of the Opera House.

I would recommend this restaurant.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ARIA Restaurant also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to ARIA Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ARIA Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.