We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view & pleasant setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sydney Cove Oyster Bar

Sydney Cove Oyster Bar
Lot 1 Circular Quay East, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
9247 2937
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #112 of 4,192 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $62
Cuisines: Fish & Chips, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Scenic view, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
175 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great view & pleasant setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Food very fresh with pretty good service. Excellent views of the harbour. Relaxed and enjoyable meal.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCOysterBar, Owner at Sydney Cove Oyster Bar, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thanks KMJphotography I am pleased you enjoyed a meal with us and left relaxed. Next time you are in Sydney and need to unwind you know who to call. Great review and thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    172
    45
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Beautiful fresh seafood at Circular Quay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We recently had lunch at Sydney Cove Oyster Bar. The service was excellent and the seafood was delicious. We enjoyed a few dozen oysters with different sauces, followed by a small seafood platter. This included oysters, mussels, prawns, crab etc, with dipping sauces and fresh watermelon. I would highly recommend this restaurant if you would like to enjoy some fresh Australian seafood with a spectacular view.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCOysterBar, Owner at Sydney Cove Oyster Bar, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thanks for that brilliant 5 star review and I will be sure all the staff have a read too. It is always great getting feedback as it reinforces our commitment to quality seafood with no exceptions. Hope we see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertson, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“No problems - we'll fix”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Arrived early for booking - no problems. Was cold & windy - no problems "would you like a blanket?" Started to rain - no problems, down came the clear plastic blinds so could still see "Vivid" displays and "Here's a plastic poncho for you both". Food was great, service good and sooooooooooooo accommodating. We'll be back

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCOysterBar, Owner at Sydney Cove Oyster Bar, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Hi Sandy, the staff sounded like they were right their game the night you came in. The weather is always a bit of a challenge for us but it was good to hear the staff did everything they could to make your evening enjoyable. Thanks for posting that informative 5 star review and I hope we see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“An unexpected pleasure.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We were in Circular Quay to see Vivid. We had no booking, yet were able to have a table at this Restaurant within about 20 mins of asking.
We had fab Fish and Chips... Delicious, not fussy and well priced.
I'll be back.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCOysterBar, Owner at Sydney Cove Oyster Bar, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Hey Sandra I am glad you enjoyed an evening with us during Vivid and I pleased you posted a review on TripAdvisor. We look forward to seeing you again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goulburn, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing views, brilliant service - this is Sydney!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

A wonderful dinner on an extremely busy night - we hadn't booked but were seated at a table within 15-20 minutes.

Dinner was delicious, the service was excellent despite an extremely busy and full restaurant - we were never lacking for service, nor did we have to wait long for our meals.

Fish & chips were some of the best I've ever eaten and the atmosphere on the waters' edge was just magical.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCOysterBar, Owner at Sydney Cove Oyster Bar, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Quoth sounds like we executed the night perfectly and I really love getting the feed back. The team has been in great form of late and are working exceptionally well together. Thanks for the lovely review and I hope we see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sydney Cove Oyster Bar also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Sydney Cove Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sydney Cove Oyster Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.