We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Questionable waiter. Expensive.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rockpool

Rockpool
11 Bridge St | Sydney, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
+61 2 9252 1888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #116 of 5,305 Restaurants in Sydney
Price range: $56 - $135
Cuisines: Australian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Rockpool is the fine dining jewel in the Rockpool Group's crown. This iconic Sydney restaurant continues to redefine modern Australian cuisine. Celebrating 25 years in February 2014, this elegant fine dining establishment is a much awarded culinary destination - one where we pride ourselves on the use of Australia and the world's best produce, an award winning wine list and Sydney's most polished service. With the recent relocation signalling the beginning of a new era for the restaurant, Neil Perry AM and Head Chef Phil Wood continue to create Rockpool's celebrated classics, while taking an increasingly progressive approach to fine dining.
greenville, sc
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Questionable waiter. Expensive.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

The food here was excellent, though awfully expensive. My daughter ordered a margarita which was served in a very small martini glass. Smallest margaritaI have ever seen. When the bill showed up, there were 2 charges for the tequila. I asked about it as she'd only ordered ONE margarita. The guy told me "that's because it had two shots of tequila in it". No way. If that were true given the very small glass, it would have been pure tequila, and in fact, it tasted like there was hardly in it. Perhaps a small thing to gripe about, but with prices like this, you expert near perfection, and in all cases, an honest waiter. Very cool atmosphere, and cool "rules of the house" in the drink menu. The waiter, sadly, put a damper on things, though.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    74
    40
    17
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Outstanding Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Went to Rockpool (at the new location) for New Years Eve dinner. The food was delicious. Top notch. The service was impeccable. Truly 5 star service. I'm a New Yorker so I thought the prices were on point for the food quality and service. Loved every bite and every moment!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martina Franca, Italy
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great Experiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We had dinner at Rockpool on the 1st of January to celebrate the New Year and most importantly our daughter 7th birthday.
Myself and my wife went for the degustation menù with 2 choices each from the a la carte menú while our daughter went for a one corse meal. The dinner experience was fantastic with very intense but well balanced flavors and great service. Waiting staff are often multilingual which makes it easy for international customers.
Not the best restaurant to go if you have kids as does not really accommodates them. Kids meal can only be chosen out of the a la carte menù which has dishes suitable mainly for adult refined taste.
We requested a small cake to celebrate our daughter birthday and that was fantastic. Presentation left us out of speech. Thanks Rockpool.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

We first went to the Rockpool about 12 years ago. We decided to go backand it has now relocated onto Bridge Street. The testurant has much more atmosphere. They start you off with a digestion stater menu and then you can choose to have 1,2 or 3 choices from the al carte menu for a fixed price. Good was very good and the service excellent. This is one of Sydney's top restaurants

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant menu and awesome wine selection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

I appreciated Rockpool's menu a lot - it was still a degustation, but I felt like the selection was very homey and just incredibly delicious. Great desserts, and defer to the sommeliers for their recommendations!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rockpool also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Rockpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rockpool, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.