We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great selection of cakes and pastries” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Renaissance Cafe

La Renaissance Cafe
47 Argyle Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
61 2 9241 4878
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #52 of 5,486 Restaurants in Sydney
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Bakeries, European
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great selection of cakes and pastries”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

If you have a sweet tooth - this is the place to go to! There is a great selection of cakes and macaroons, all to whet your tastebuds.

As you pass through this patisserie, the smell of baking wafts through the street, tempting you to go in. Once in there, the patisserie has a small corridor leading to the back cafe area. As you head towards the cafe, you can also take a peek into the kitchen where the cakes are being baked.

Go with an appetite!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    50
    11
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia,
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Delicious & tempting desserts, quaint, pretty, a farmer's market just outside”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Just from strolling down the road this Patisserie caught my eye, and the window display had me drooling. A very charming location, the decor does remind me of Paris cafes.
So many selections I didn't know where to start. A sweet indulgence. Good for the girls too.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Aus
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Cannot fault their baked goodies!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Have bought cakes on order and from behind the counter. Everyone whose tasted their treats have loved it, even a friend who works for an international hotel as a baker said the quality was up there with the best. Service is always a bit rushed, but that's because they're so popular, especially on weekends with so many tourists lining up. Definitely a must try.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice courtyard, great cakes.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

We dropped in here while at The Rocks markets. Service was quick, had a choc mousse cake which was delicious. Coffee okay but it arrived quickly. Nice courtyard out back spoiled a bit by noisy exhaust fan.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Parisian treat in Sydney”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We discovered this little gem at the Rocks. Walking into this shop transported us to Paris ( but we got good service here !) fantastic selection of treats, we had a divine cheese stick and an almond croissant which was lovely, the coffee was very good as well. We are going back today as there was so many things we wanted to try, traditional pies, quiches and a selection of wee cakes to tantalise the eyes....it is a must visit..

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Renaissance Cafe also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to La Renaissance Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Renaissance Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.