We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bitterly disappointed” 1 of 5 stars
Review of La Renaissance Cafe

La Renaissance Cafe
47 Argyle Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (City Centre)
61 2 9241 4878
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #101 of 5,302 Restaurants in Sydney
Cuisines: Bakery, European, Coffee Shop
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Neighborhood: City Centre
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Bitterly disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

After reading all the fantastic reviews on here this was one of the places I wanted to eat while visiting Sydney. Well, what a disappointment. Maybe we were unlucky, but the coffee we ordered here was terrible. So terrible that I had two sips and left the rest. The food was ok, nothing to rave about. Didn't sit well in my stomach. Maybe I ordered the wrong thing. Personally, I wouldn't bother coming here again. Found a much better coffee up the road the next day.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    44
    10
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helensvale, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Worst coffee I have ever had.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

My friend really wanted to go here after reading all of the great reviews on Trip Advisor. We were bitterly disappointed and bitter is what we got with our coffee. We also felt sick after our 'pastries'. I had an almond croissant whilst my friend had a ham and cheese croissant. We spent the following two hours at our hotel room taking turns for the bathroom with our upset stomachs. After this we were AFRAID to eat at another cafe let alone purchase another coffee seeing we left La Renaissance without our coffees as we could not bring ourselves to finish them. Terrible!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Decadent desserts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Still the place for me to get my fix of salted caramel macarons! The desserts here are simply decadent.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Best macarons in Sydney”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

If like me you miss french pastry on this side of the world then La Renaissance will make it up for you.

It is probably the best eclairs and macarons in Sydney, maybe even Australia.

Everything is of course way more expensive than in Europe but there is 16000 kilometers between the 2 continents.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Delicious pastries, adorable courtyard”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I always make sure to stop at La Renaissance when I'm in Sydney because the food is excellent and the courtyard out the back is beautiful and peaceful (even when the front of store is hectic). They make a fantastic array of authentic patisserie classics (I'm partial to an almond croissant) as well as a range of baguettes and pies for lunch. If faced with the sweet vs savoury dilemma, go sweet.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Renaissance Cafe also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to La Renaissance Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Renaissance Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.