We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Great introduction'” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fish At The Rocks

Fish At The Rocks
29 Kent St | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (City Centre)
+61 2 92524614
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 5,302 Restaurants in Sydney
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: City Centre
Description: Modern Australian seafood restaurant located in one of the rocks historic buildings, where those in the know go!Open for lunch 12noon Monday- FridayDinner from 6pm 7 daysBlackboards with daily specials
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“'Great introduction'”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Visiting Sydney for a show and taken to Fish at The Rocks, we strolled up to Kent Street at my brother's suggestion, hoping a table would be available and happy to find we could be accommodated. Prompt and attentive waiter service ensued: this small classy restaurant has hand-picked staff! First treated to tiny pastries followed by a lovely seafood platter selected by the owner, we found that the wine list allowed for varying palettes as well as the menu's delicate and piquant flavours. Our eating experience was enhanced by the intimate atmosphere despite having many tables in a small space. Sophisticated and recommended!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    124
    37
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kailua-kona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great dinner and excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Made reservations for dinner before the opera. We had to pickup our tickets at will call and needed a little extra time to do so. The management opened up fifteen minutes early so we would not feel rushed. We had the fixed menu ($45.00 per person). Plenty of fabulous food.
This was a great experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The best seafood I have had in a long time. It's only a small restaurant but the food is of great quality and delicious!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Great intimate dinner in a tourist area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We weren't too sure about this place when our hotel in The Rocks recommended it because it's in a rather touristy neighborhood, but it was a lovely surprise. The food was great quality and cooked perfectly, and service was pretty good (only complaint was that water glasses were not refilled).

It's a small place, so you may want to get a reservation if you're going at a peak time.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, GA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful value, excellent food and perfect service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I booked for lunch the other day and I was more than pleasantly surprised. Wild barramundi was the specialty of the day with wonderful tartar sauce and delicious chips. The fish was grilled and had a wonderful flavor. All for $25. What a culinary treat and what a deal as it came with a chilled glass of Sauvignon blanc. The young waitress was perfect and the young waiter had a great sense of humor.I will be back again.




  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish At The Rocks also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Fish At The Rocks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fish At The Rocks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.