We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST fish dish ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fish At The Rocks

Fish At The Rocks
29 Kent St | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (City Centre)
+61 2 92524614
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 5,256 Restaurants in Sydney
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: City Centre
Description: Modern Australian seafood restaurant located in one of the rocks historic buildings, where those in the know go!Open for lunch 12noon Monday- FridayDinner from 6pm 7 daysBlackboards with daily specials
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“BEST fish dish ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We tried the food at this restaurant by chance and were "WOWed"! It is simply amazing, so good that we had lunch AND dinner there in the same day. We were staying at a hotel nearby the restaurant and had walked passed it a few times, not thinking much of it! From outside the decor looked minimalist and every time full! We put it down to the lack of places to eat nearby until we actually went in and had the BEST fish dishes ever! Oysters are a must! they are so amazing you never want to stop! We tried a whiting dish and a black cod dish, both of which were cooked to perfection. Not to forget the young lady waitress who was extremely helpful finding out the source of the oysters for us. We will never forget our experience here.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    123
    36
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A great little place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Our group enjoyed the early bird special at $45 per head and were able to BYO. There was a good selection of meals availab for both entree and mains. One of our party who requires gluten free was well catered for. Service was not overly attentive as there only appeared to be one waiter looking after the upstairs dining area. Nice atmosphere and decor. We will visit again.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Fish at The Rocks - A Secret Little Gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

The concierge at our hotel recommended this restaurant to us as our favourite seafood restaurant in Sydney had bitten the dust! When we attempted to book (at short notice), we were advised to arrive early as the only available table had to be vacated at 7.00pm. We did so, and chose a curried pumpkin soup as well as a salt and pepper squid with salad. The dishes were delightful and went extremely well with the recommended sauvignon blanc. In addition, the staff were extremely pleasant and efficient and we left on a real high at 6.45pm! We couldn't believe it when we read later that this restaurant was established in 1988 and we had never heard of it beforehand! What a secret little gem!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
278 helpful votes 278 helpful votes
“Speak no evil - hear no evil - see no evil”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

But I can't contain myself

No you can't hear your dining partners because of the acoustics and No you can't see in the gloom of the restaurant and the food is so overpriced as to beg reason. Would pass on this one.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great little fish restaurant tucked away in The Rocks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Delicious entree platter and baked barramundi very good. Good service and refined atmosphere. Would recommend booking ahead as small and popular.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish At The Rocks also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Fish At The Rocks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fish At The Rocks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.