We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fish at The Rocks - A Secret Little Gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fish At The Rocks

Fish At The Rocks
29 Kent St | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
+61 2 92524614
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 4,238 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Modern Australian seafood restaurant located in one of the rocks historic buildings, where those in the know go!Open for lunch 12noon Monday- FridayDinner from 6pm 7 daysBlackboards with daily specials
South Australia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fish at The Rocks - A Secret Little Gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

The concierge at our hotel recommended this restaurant to us as our favourite seafood restaurant in Sydney had bitten the dust! When we attempted to book (at short notice), we were advised to arrive early as the only available table had to be vacated at 7.00pm. We did so, and chose a curried pumpkin soup as well as a salt and pepper squid with salad. The dishes were delightful and went extremely well with the recommended sauvignon blanc. In addition, the staff were extremely pleasant and efficient and we left on a real high at 6.45pm! We couldn't believe it when we read later that this restaurant was established in 1988 and we had never heard of it beforehand! What a secret little gem!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    308
    159
    49
    14
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Parksville, Canada
Level Contributor
110 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 306 helpful votes
“Speak no evil - hear no evil - see no evil”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

But I can't contain myself

No you can't hear your dining partners because of the acoustics and No you can't see in the gloom of the restaurant and the food is so overpriced as to beg reason. Would pass on this one.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great little fish restaurant tucked away in The Rocks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Delicious entree platter and baked barramundi very good. Good service and refined atmosphere. Would recommend booking ahead as small and popular.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
159 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Unexpected baked delight in top class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

There a few restaurants in the world which gives me happy goosebumps when I talk about my experience. The whole baked baby barramundi stuffed with prawn and vegetables is one of these 10 best dishes I ever had at a restaurant. The mixture of flavors, the tenderness off the fish and great service in a beautiful location is the foundation for my excellent rating. The other dishes at the table varied between very good and excellent as well. The wine list is a strong contributor to this winning combination.

Reserve is advance since many were turned away the Monday evening I was there.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
80 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We got restaurant recommendations from local people when we were on a wine tour. We decided to try Fish at the Rocks and Le Pelican in Surry Hills. We booked the early bird special at Fish at the Rocks. The tiny restaurant was in a tucked away corner. it took us a little while to find it.

We had steamed mussels and salt and pepper calamari for appetizers. Atlantic salmon and Cone Bay Barramundi for main course. The dishes were all delicious. The dinner was $45 PP with a glass of house wine. That's a great deal in Sydney. We tried Le Pelican the next day but were not impressed.

A cozy and unpretentious place for a nice meal. Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish At The Rocks also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Fish At The Rocks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fish At The Rocks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.