We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I told the waitperson my order he got it perfectly right” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bakers Oven Cafe

The Bakers Oven Cafe
121 George Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (City Centre)
61 2 9247 9978
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3,556 of 5,321 Restaurants in Sydney
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Neighborhood: City Centre
tasmania
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
“I told the waitperson my order he got it perfectly right”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Just finished a cruise sydney harbour so was looking for an afternoon delight. English breakfast tea in a pot cold water on side no milk. Lemon tart with cream served very quickly with a smile. Price $14.50 paid with card no problem or questions where is the tip jar good service should be rewarded.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    12
    13
    13
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
st louis mo
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great little place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We had lunch here while strolling through the Rocks area and it was great food and wonderful desserts!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
Top Contributor
260 reviews 260 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Wonderful little bakery!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The two of us had lunch for $25.91. Nice bakery, good food, price not too high and good service. Outside dining made for a nice, pleasant lunch.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QLD
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Quiet spot in the Rocks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We stopped for lunch here, as it had easy access for a stroller outdoors unlike many places in The Rocks. There was a lovely breeze in the courtyard on a hot day. We were served quickly and I would have to say the coffee was the first good cup I'd had in Sydney all week. The servings were quite substantial, and the small salad served as a side dish was very fresh, crisp and delicious. Son thought the chicken panini was best meal he'd had all week, but I found the sausage roll wasn't that great and not heated enough, it wasn't bad but I was disappointed considering it was a bakery cafe. As with everywhere in Sydney, drinks are overpriced. Service is quick and friendly and it's a nice quiet cool spot on a busy day in The Rocks.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“A Delightful Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Those poor unfortunates that suffered weeks of hardship on the high seas would have seen their penal servitude turn into a 'Transport of Delight' if The Rocks had contained the Bakers Oven when they hit dry land.

We, passengers on a somewhat more civilised journey to Sydney, sat in the sunshine and fuelled up for the day on fresh juice, home-made muesli, long blacks and soda bread toast. Pleasant bustling staff complemented the simple yet satisfying breakfast menu.

We returned for the few days we were in town and were not disappointed. A good find in one of Sydney's more eclectic neighbourhoods.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bakers Oven Cafe also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to The Bakers Oven Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bakers Oven Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.