We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“paella is awesome” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Encasa Restaurant

Encasa Restaurant
423 Pitt Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Chinatown)
61 2 9211 4257
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #148 of 5,319 Restaurants in Sydney
Price range: $0 - $26
Cuisines: Pizza, Spanish, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“paella is awesome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

the seafood is fresh!

friendly staff and they always make sure you have everything!

will always come back!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    69
    15
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“The best tapas... Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

The place itself looks a little shabby from the outside, but please don't let this put you off.

The tapas is AMAZING! The spicy lamb skewers are the tastiest. Quite possibly the best tapas I have ever eaten.

I am so glad we went there. It is well worth a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taree, Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Excellent service and very good tapas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Although the restaurant was busy and I made a mistake with the reservation time, the fellow at the front desk found us a table. We were going to the Capitol for a show so time was of the essence. We chose 5 tapas dishes but the waitress said 4 would be plenty, and she was right! The garlic prawns, artichokes and Spanish ham were all delicious. But the chorizo cooked in cider had a funny taste and texture. With a glass of wine each, it was a very pleasant experience and highly recommended.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very for a light-ish tapas meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Had 4 tapas dishes - white anchovies, Spanish ham, clams and croquettes.
Waiter was excellent with his recommendations.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Small place, but very good food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We ate here twice on our trip. Once for pizza, very good and once for tapas, which were outstanding. The service was very good. I would so go here again. One of the best meals we had in Sydney. If you get the sangria make sure you get the top shelf or premium there is a big difference.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Encasa Restaurant also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Encasa Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Encasa Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.