We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the duck” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BBQ King Restaurant

BBQ King Restaurant
18 Goulburn St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Bbq King Restaurant) (Chinatown)
9267-2586
Improve this listing
Ranked #680 of 5,321 Restaurants in Sydney
Cuisines: Barbecue, Australian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Love the duck”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Great place no need to book walk in open late great food reasonable prices good service best duck in Sydney one of my favorite restaurants

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    52
    28
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“A visit here is a must during every trip to Sydney”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Yes, we go here everytime we go to Sydney even when we stay up near The Rocks, it's worth the 30 minute walk down to China Town.

Yes there is nothing fancy about the restaurant itself or its staff, from outside and inside the decorations look rather shabby and the staff don't come off as very friendly but the service is quick and efficient.

We always have roasted duck and bbq pork and it's always just as good. The duck here is heaps better than the duck we had in a fancy restaurant in Beijing. Some people commented on the prices, for the duck, pork and another beef & noodle dish we paid 50 AUD and I don't think that's unreasonable.

This place is probably not where you would go to celebrate a special occasion, but to grab a quick quality feed. We'll definitely come back again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“great food and fantastic service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

the roast duck, crispy roast pork, tofu veggie dishes were fabulous. quick service. plates replaced 3 times when used up without being asked. convenient main st location on Goulburn st near corner of George.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great duck”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

The queue for Mamak's was far too long so we headed to the acclaimed BBQ King. The whole roast duck and crispy skin pork were very good. We also had tofu and vegetables : excellent.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crown Point, Indiana
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Food Great Price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We had lunch and a dinner there. Great place and the prices are also great. This is not a fancy place. However, The owner and his staff are extremely helpful and very friendly. They make you feel very welcomed.

On our first visit, we had a steamed whole fish with white rice. It was delicious. Our next visit, we ordered BBQ duck and we were not disappointed. It was very meaty and not greasy at all.

The best way to judge an Asian restaurant is by how many local Chinese eat there. If you go, there will be many Chinese patrons there.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BBQ King Restaurant also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to BBQ King Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BBQ King Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.